We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creekside--nice but no resort; dining at State Game was a bad experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
State Game Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Creekside--nice but no resort; dining at State Game was a bad experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Creekside is no more than a newly built motel...clean and nice but certainly not what we would call a resort; the reservations we made were disregarded as to our requests but were changed once we told them our room was not what we reserved; staff was very nice and cooperative about this; we ate lunch and dinner in the dining room at the adjacent State Game Lodge; not a lot of choice on the soup and salad lunch buffet and very expensive; at dinner we could not understand our server, poor command of English, and the food presentation was nice, but the taste was not; we chose not to eat there again; check their website to find specials; we did this after we had made reservations; no specials were mentioned during the time of reservation but they did honor their special once contacted by e-mail.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    143
    74
    30
    15
See reviews for
146
167
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

This is a new lodge. Rooms are large and very nice. Bathrooms are great. Airconditioning and heating systems are quiet and work well. Our room backed up to a creek. Some rooms had balconies which I would ask for next time. I would stay in this lodge again versus one of the older ones in the state park which have multiple issues being that they are old and worn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

The State Game Lodge is a perfectly fine place to stay within the boundaries of Custer State Park. We stayed in one of the motel rooms, which was no more than adequate, but I imagine that the historic rooms in the main lodge building would have been a different experience. The dining room has a quite sophisticated dinner menu that was not executed so well. Judging by how they cook something medium-rare -- it was cooked dry the whole way through -- I cannot imagine what they must do to cuts of meat that are ordered well done. You should be staying here for the location and the history of the property. You're not paying for The Four Seasons and you don't get it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank misterplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Game Lodge, which is located within the Custer State Park. I found it very tedious driving back to the lodge each day from wherever we were visiting in the area, because it is about 10 miles inside the park. It is especially difficult after dark because of the many animals that may stray onto the road. The hotel itself was quite old and it showed it. they really need to refurbish the place. The room was quite dark, although it was clean and the bath was clean. The food in the restaurant was very good and I would recommend it. they have a small bar where we had drinks before dinner and that was very nice, friendly, and enjoyable. The part of the entire stay which I didn't like was the fact that the kitchen people were cleaning utensils or grills or something behind our room every day with a pressure washer. The noise alone was annoying, but they also created a stream and puddles of dishwater right in front of the room. We had to step over the puddles every day to get to the room. And it smelled like greasy dish water too. If I had to stay in Custer again, I would choose a different place.

  • Liked — Excellent food. Great scenery
  • Disliked — Rooms in need of upgrade
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We recently stayed at the State Game Lodge, our first time to visit the area. It is a very scenic location. The main building (lodge) is really quite beautiful. We reserved one of the sleeping cabins, and it was quite comfortable. I was a bit hesitant at first as we have had problems with mice in other state park cabins (such as Bryce), but no such problem here. They are not fancy by any means, but clean, quiet, comfortable and very relaxing. We had dinner at the lodge, and I really cannot recommend it at all. It was your typical overpriced, mediocre national park lodge food. There are a couple places to eat down in Custer that were actually pretty decent and much more reasonable. If you are not familiar with the area, the town of Custer is about a 15 minute drive, and Mt. Rushmore is probably about a 30 minute drive. But as I said, the area is just stunning so the drive is great. Best parts of the stay were: 1) sitting by the fire in the lodge in the evening reading, and 2) enjoying a nice glass of wine on the front porch in the afternoon sunshine. All in all, the lodge is very clean, enjoyable, and authentic to the area. Lots and lots to do in the area, and we definitely want to return.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

We found this campground good and located in a convienient place to sights and scenic roads. There is a range of camp sites (and cabins). There are sites out on open grassed area (where we were) and sites nested amongst trees next to a small stream. There is a shop (with the lodge) a 10 minute walk away and a 'theatre' hall where rangers have evening events to do with the park. We were very fortunate during our stay because a herd of bison decided to hang around the area (something they do only a few times a year). This was great to see and I was glad of the fence around the campgound.
There is a small beach/ pond area which the kids would have loved to use except that the bison had been wading around in it and lying on the beach. After that the pond lost it's appeal! We did swim in another pond in the campground but it had no beach and was pretty chilly. Remember to bring warm gear even in summer as nights are cool.
We found our campsite expensive because we had to pay for two. This was because if you have more than two tents you must pay for two sites (all double sites were taken). I consider this unfair when our small 3 man and 1 man tents fit easily on a site. While we have to get two sites a huge RV only needs one. The only other thing I think the campground could do with is a washing area for dishes. While there are clear signs not to use the bathrooms for this purpose, no other option is provided except a single tap near the restrooms.
These gripes aside, the park was lovely and a good family destination. Rules are a little more relaxed than in a national park and there are more family recreational opportunities than at yellowstone. The wildlife is terrific and there are some beautiful walks and bike trails. Bike rentals are near to the campground (no helmets so bring your own). Sylvan lake a short drive away is a good family swimming place with good pizza available.

Helpful?
Thank 3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

We are repeat guests of the State Game Lodge. We love this area of Custer State Park because of the wildlife - bison on the lawn, birds in the trees. It's convenient to the wildlife loop road as well as to Rapid City. This time we stayed in one "small sleeping cabin" (2 double beds) and one "large sleeping cabin" (2 double beds and a sofabed). The cabins are the same old structures with some renovations and additions inside. Now they have flat-screen TVs, phones, hair dryers, and updated bathrooms and sinks. The carpet is probably new, but it doesn't look it. Some windows open, some don't. Some curtains close, some don't. The light fixtures are too bright and too hot, especially over the sink. In-window A/C does a pretty good job of keeping the cabin cool, and the beds were comfortable. The cabins have fire pits in the front, and the people next door built a bonfire in theirs that sent out a lot of sparks. I could have done without the fire. It is a quiet area. The large cabin costs about the same as a hotel room at a chain like Holiday Inn, but it sleeps six (crowded). No closet or any place to hang clothes. Good shower. For a full breakfast, we went to the small cafe at Legion Lake; for something simpler, we went to the Coolidge store for packaged muffins and juice. One night we dined at the Lodge's Pheasant dining room - good food, good wine list, expensive; the other night we dined at Blue Bell Lodge - OK food, OK service, also overpriced. All in all, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Liked — Location, grounds
  • Disliked — Overpriced dining
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BirdingIsFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
14.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Property: State Game Lodge
Address: 13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing