We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flies”
Review of State Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
State Game Lodge
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was at this property for two nights last week, and was very disappointed in the whole place. The housekeeping was awful...they propped the doors open to clean, and we had to spend an hour every day killing flies in our room. We complained, as did several in our group, and were told it was a recent "hatching". Well, flies aside, the rest of the property was neglected and sad, especially the "motel" addition. Cigarette butts, abandoned flip flops. Our room on the second day was serviced...the spread was tossed on the bed, with the sheets dragging the floor. The coffee maker was not not touched, the counter not cleaned. I would have preferred a clean Motel 6.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms in the addition open to a busy parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosewoodFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the motel type units, and they were adequate, a bit small, but you are getting a great location. Our AC unit was a bit noisy but passable. The room was clean and servicable. The bathroom was nice and it was clean as well. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The main historic lodge was beautiful and the large lobby allowed us to be there with friends. The gift store offered a nice variety and decent prices. We enjoyed the experience as whole and did not mind them room at all.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lower tier were closer to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the Creekside Lodge, which is a separate (and newer) building than the main lodge. They also have cabins & a campground. Our room had a king bed, two leather chairs, a pull out couch, a small dinner table with 2 chairs, a refrig, microwave, & a nice flat screen TV. The toilet & tub/shower were separate from the sink & mirror which is always nice when multiple people are trying to get ready in the morning. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. We stayed 2 nights and I wish we could have stayed there one more (it was booked the rest of the week). The rooms were quiet and it left like we were the only ones there. The rate was ~$200 a night but it was so worth it because it was so nice and it was nice to be staying in the park and not having to drive in and out every day to stay in a neighboring town - although the town of Custer isn't very far mileage-wise, the twisting winding roads with low speed limits make it take longer than you would think.
The restaurant in the main lodge was our 2 favorite meals of the trip. We did dinner there on our first night (a little fancy & pricey but worth it) and lunch the next day (a great buffet/salad bar for $13.50 that was well worth it).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris4913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We lucked into this place and found the staff very accommodating and the food excellent. The location is in the center of an exceptionally beautiful park full of exceptional scenery and a lot of animals. We experienced Buffalo on the grounds. Our room was attached to the lodge and very convenient to the restaurant. The only problem we had, and it's not a major thing to us, is that the room was quite small and we must have been there during the peak of the fly season. The room was very clean. I'd return here again, however I might look into another room option as there were many and not having been here before we took a chance on the type room we selected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were on A 6 day tour of South Dakota and stayed At the State Game Lodge / Creek side.
for 3 nights.
The rooms were beautiful with there Buffalo motif.
Had all of the amenities that you want and even A afternoon snack of cookies and juice .
The Creek side lodge is within walking distance of the main lodge where there is A restaurant .
But they had A pick up in front of the lodge for those of us that could not walk that far [ we had A gentleman that used A wheelchair ] and they dropped you off at the main lodge .
The Driver was great he even took us on A short tour the Buffalo and there calf's had invaded the Dorms where they stay at the night before .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancemabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My fiancée and I spent a night at the SGL in one of the small cabins...the cabins have certainly seen better days...some paint falling off the doors and some old decor, but for a cabin, hard to say it was bad. I didn't have much trouble sleeping, although it was easy to hear other cabin occupants having a party. You're certainly paying for scenery here...no doubt this is in the heart of some beautiful country.

Some of the rooms, especially at the new looking Creekside lodge, will probably be the nicest rooms at the resort. Again, cabins aren't bad, but they could probably use a little upkeep.

On checking out, the girl up front was very helpful with regards to an upcoming wedding. Even allowed us to look into a cabin that hadn't been cleaned up yet for future possible accommodations for a family. Very nice of her.

Room Tip: Cabins are rustic, and need a little upkeep, but not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

so glad we stayed here rather than in town in a typical hotel. Very nice. It would be like going to Branson and not staying at Big Cedar but on the strip if we had stayed in Rapid City.We stayed at Creekside because rooms were bigger. If staying as a couple the historic rooms are pretty. We saw lots of wild life. rooms at Creekside- get one with a balcony or patio. we stayed on 1st floor. able to walk out to car from room. nice big room. microwave and fridge. dinner good at State Game. Nice lobby for drinks. salmon dinner good at restaurant. nice trails for running. took the jeep tour around 10 am. lots of animals out. Harry was our tour guide. Fun trip. dinner at Blue Bell was not as good as State Game. nice to be there at the park for a few days. able to do the wildlife loop a couple of times. very east to get to highway to go to Mt.Rushmore or when arriving, leaving. harder to get to Blue Belle and other lodges. State Game 3 miles from the entrance. late May before Memorial Day is the perfect time. no crowds. It did rain, but we were prepared. go to Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Black Hills Institute in Hill city was an awesome place to see a full T-Rex and other dinos, bones, etc. skip the Jewel Cave. 20 min tour was not worth the trip. If you can do the hour and 20 min it might be ok. we saw the laser show on Crazy Horse. cool. read or listen to the Crazy Horse story to better appreciate. It was 11 hours - perfect for our drive. Great Trip!

Room Tip: room on the creek side quiet. 1st floor easy access to car. laundry on 2nd floor. no pool. Creek sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.3 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
14.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Address: 13389 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8351
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing