We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Offers Great Camping Opportunity”
Review of Center Lake

Ranked #19 of 38 things to do in Custer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Custer State Park, this lake offers fishing, swimming and a nearby campground.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lake Offers Great Camping Opportunity”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Less scenic that Sylvan Lake, but offers great amenity for camping. Camp location worked best for us because it was central to where we wanted to travel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and picturesque”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stopped here with my 11 and 13 year old kids and stayed for about two hours just climbing the rocks just to the south of the beach. This lake wasn't crowded at all and offered a great place to stretch our legs during the midday after driving the Wildlife Loop and before we headed north to Keystone. Not quite as dramatic as the scene at Sylvan Lake, but equally enjoyable in a different sort of way!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Upper Loop of Center Lake Campground is great!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As we traveled cross country with our 11 and 6 year old boys, we attempted to tent camp every few nights to save money. Custer was a favorite stop in past trips, so we decided to try one of the campgrounds.

We asked one of the rangers at the entrance station which campground was the most private (we really dislike public camping - we like a little privacy and quiet!). She recommended we check out Center Lake Campground.

We had no prior reservations, but it was a Monday night so we were safe. She told us there wouldn't be much of a cell signal back there, but there was a park phone at the entrance to the campground that connected us directly to the National Parks Reservation system. Very cool.

We drove around the Upper and Lower loops and decided we'd stick with the Upper Loop - farther from the lake, but definitely less full and more quiet. I used the campground phone and connected immediately to a nice reservation agent. They were able to tell me which spots were available and which were already reserved. It was a little more expensive than we expected ($25 for non-resident).

We got a great site at the top of the Upper Loop - very spacious with a nice flat spot for the tent. They have boxed, gravel tent sites all ready for you. The tall pines offered shade and a wonderful scent. There was also a nice parking pad, set off the road through the campground.

We drove the Wildlife Loop as dusk fell and returned just as it became dark. As we were getting the boys into bed, another group pulled up to the site next to us (around 9 p.m.). They were very loud as they set up their tent - four adults in their 20s. This continued until about 1 a.m. which was so rude. It ruined the feeling of the spot, but again, that's the downside to organized campgrounds vs. dispersed camping.

The pit toilets were fine - didn't smell terrible. There was potable water just a few sites away. We were able to take showers the next morning with a short drive down to the lake area and Lower Loop. The showers were free and were decent.

The beach area at Center Lake was kind of gross - lots of geese leaving their feces around, but overall it was a nice place to stop for the night. I did get one bar signal with AT&T at our campsite - enough to send texts back and forth.

All-in-all, it was a nice spot with pretty much space. Can't help how loud the neighbors get!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Port, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The kids had a great time swimming near the sandy beach! Beautiful scenery and picnic area!! Will definitely be going again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TBJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am only writing this because I am moving out of South Dakota, otherwise I wouldn't share this secret. But this is a great little lake for camping, fishing, swimming, and kayaking. The water is pretty clear, you can see trout swimming in it quite easily. If you stand in the swimming area part of the lake, you will see fish swimming around your feet. I once caught a trout with my bare hands there. And bison walk through the campsite sometimes. You can only reserve a campsite here the day of your stay, though.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center Lake also viewed

 

Been to Center Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing