We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful Lake; Lovely Hike”
Review of Sylvan Lake

Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Popular lake in Custer State Park.
Oakwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Beatiful Lake; Lovely Hike”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you visit Sylvan Lake you have to take the hike around the lake. There are numerous trailheads nearby including the needles and the firetower.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jewella72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    218
    35
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
855 reviews
552 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Very pretty lake with boat rentals”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This lake next to the lodge at the north end of the needles highway is a serene and peaceful spot. They have kayak and paddle boat rentals and the lodge restaurant is next to the lake. Nice hiking trail go around the lake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place for a swim”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After watching National Treasure 2 we knew that we had to stop at Sylvan Lake and see the filming location. We visited on a very hot day in September and enjoyed swimming from the beach. The water temperature was perfect! The kids swam out to two rock croppings and were able to climb on top. There are bathrooms and two change rooms that we saw coming from the parking lot - also lots of picnic tables if you want to bring food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank samanthandtravismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful....”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We purchased our Custer State Park pass here through self-registration, $15 for one vehicle for up to 7 days access. Worth every penny.
The weather was windy and with light snow, temps around 28f at that height but we wrapped up and took a walk around the lake to the natural dam. Stepping stones allow access to a footbridge over the dam and also a great view back toward the carpark an overlooking peaks. Great photo opportunities and some easy hikes.
Following the recent four feet of snow in the area the week previous to our visit, Needles Highway was closed. A small disappointment but we still had plenty to see and do in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsMeJustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
210 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is well worth the visit. So picturesque with a trail around the lake and an excellent spot for a picnic. It is a small lake with rock formations on one end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank P1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sylvan Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing