We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to Kayak,Swim, Picnic...go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sylvan Lake

Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Popular lake in Custer State Park.
Sioux Falls SD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Want to Kayak,Swim, Picnic...go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We planned to Kayak at Sheridan Lake but it was so rough with white caps so we decided to try Sylvan. It was a homerun! The Kayaking was fun tooling around the lake. The lake looked like glass and was just perfect. We also watched people jump from rocks. After we turned in our Kayaks, we also did that. There are countless signs that say $100 fine but we jumped then called it a day. Earlier in the day, we hiked Harney Peak...if you are doing that then this do afterward. Picnics and swimming are exactly what this lake is about, families. If you are bored then you can easily climb rocks without fear and there is a nice trail around the lake. The store there was also stocked with tons of shirts and other items. This place is not a hidden gem so go in knowing there are going to people there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trip_haz_consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    208
    33
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pristine and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013


I had heard that part of the movie National Treasure II was filmed at this location so I wanted to see if I could find the rock that was in the movie. We found it without any problems and took time to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy the quiet calmness of the area. We arrived late in the day so the lake was like glass and not many people were there. it was a beautiful relaxing visit.

We returned the next day (Earlier) to hike up to Harney Peak and because it was a hotter day and earlier there was a lot of people there to enjoy the swimming and the area... it was hard to find parking.

If you are in the region do not miss stopping at this site for a walk around the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordtgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great beginner hike for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Kids loved this lake and the hiking trails around it. They climbed all over the rocks and had a great time. Very scenic views as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank velogirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot, busy though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely spot for swimming and picnicking. Lots of families by mid-afternoon. Hiked the well-marked trails to the Harney Peak Lookout. Trails were well-maintained. Thoroughly enjoyed the hike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSCMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is such a lovely place. If only to stop and walk around. There is a store that sells ice cream. Stop in, get a cone, walk around the lake. Nice path to walk. Great photo ops. We actually rented a canoe and it was a lot of fun except I thought it was priced a little high. I'm used to renting canoes for the day for $40. It is $40 for thirty minutes there, but hey it's vacation right...splurge. There is an area to swim, also and seen several people fishing. They have kayaks but children must be twelve to rent those. I had planned to splurge and stay here, but they stay quite booked up, so book early if you want o stay in their lodging.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ynot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Lake also viewed

 

Been to Sylvan Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing