We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never outgrow this loop!!”
Review of Wildlife Loop Road

Wildlife Loop Road
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 18-mile scenic drive in Custer State Park.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never outgrow this loop!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a fun loop to take your time and drive through.
Make sure you bring along some healthy snacks to give the burrows. They will make their way into your hearts as they beg for food. :)
Bring veggies -

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,441
    288
    86
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgemont, South Dakota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“See bison and burros close up”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

In the 20 years we have lived in the Hills there was only one time that we drove the Wildlife Loop that we did not see bison. This year we rode though as the Park was preparing for the annual roundup the next day. It was crowded for the next day's events, but we saw bison and we saw cowboys on horseback in last minute training.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Have you ever had bison or burros lick your vehicle?”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took two drives down the Wildlife Loop in December. The first trip, we saw a number of wild animals and even had a dozen or so burros come up and lick the salt off our vehicle. The burros are not native, but were released by some sort of attraction when it closed. They have thrived.

A day or two later, we again drove down the loop and this time, met dozens of bison. They came right up to us and licked our vehicles and meandered around. The grandchildren loved it.

The Wildlife Loop is not a race track. It has to be driven slowly to be enjoyed. Of course, as always with wildlife, sometimes you see them and sometimes, you don't.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlaEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Take the time to enjoy this side trip.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wildlife Loop Road is a "must see" part of Custer State Park. My last drive here was on a pleasant day in November, and the experience was still wonderful. A pleasantly winding road that reveals new things at every turn. Was held up for 20 minutes by a "Buffalo jam" - but that's what the road is all about. Bottom line: essential part of Black Hills touring.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bison, prairie dogs, antelope”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a fairly long stretch of road. I've seen bison every time I have been on this road, and antelopes once while on this road. It is a prairie type area, not much forested area and a very easy drive. It is also very likely to see prairie dogs on this drive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Loop Road also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Loop Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing