We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when in the Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The town of Custer SD is located in the southern part of the Black Hills, near all the monuments and Custer State Park. There is plenty to do, but without the crowds. The hotel was relatively new, very clean with comfortable rooms. The indoor pool / spa was an added bonus for the family. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are so thankful that you took the time to review our hotel and your stay. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 502 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were here to see the sights and this hotel has a good location for many of the area's attractions. We received two very nice gift bags since we are Choice Diamond members. The room and bathroom were very nice but didn't have a fridge or microwave. We thought the bed and pillows were uncomfortable; the bedspread kept sliding off the bed while we were sleeping. The staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are upgrading all of our rooms this winter to include a microwave and fridge. We are also getting a new bedding package. With all of our upgrades I'm sure you'll be extremely satisfied with your next stay! Thank you again and we can't wait to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Custer at this Comfort Inn. The hotel was very clean. Our hotel room was comfortable and the entire place seemed well managed. We had a room on the first floor facing the front parking area. It was quiet and far enough off the main road that traffic was not a problem. The breakfast was typical for this type of hotel and it was presented well. It was a good spot to visit both Mt. Rushmore and Custer Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rscoapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn and Suites for your hospitality needs while visiting the Custer area. We appreciate your time in reviewing our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This property deserves a much higher ranking than #4 of 19 hotels in Custer. Breakfast was good, room quiet and comfortable, the rate reasonable and the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if we ever return to the Custer area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samrose9121964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We hope to be #1 to all of our guests! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We strive to WOW our guests each and every time we can. Please come and stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked into the Comfort Inn after a day of driving through the Black Hills. We were tired and were greeted by the very friendly front desk staffer, who had just put fresh baked cookies out on the counter. There's no better way to be greeted after a long day than that! The room was large, comfortable, and very clean. We could not have asked for better accommodations for the price. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of things to choose from - scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, fruit, and a variety of cereals and pastries. The location was perfect for us driving out to Wyoming when we left, but it is about 20-30 minutes from Mount Rushmore and almost 90 minutes from Badlands National Park if you want to be closer to those places.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canyonbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hot, Fresh, and Delicious! We always want to welcome our guests with open arms and wonderful accommodations. Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Inn and Suites in Custer, SD for your hospitality needs. We can't wait to see you again soon! And thanks for writing a review of your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel was nice & clean as it should be. The wi-fi signal was not strong enought to stay connected more than a couple minutes on the 3rd floor. The ad on the Choice Hotels website implied there was a micro wave & frig,,, but not in our room. It also took forever for the water to get hot enought to take a shower. The morning breakfast was typical and standard, not a plus or minus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear that you had issues with our wireless internet. We will be looking into that. We are going to upgrade our rooms this winter to include microwave and fridge along with more breakfast options. Thanks for staying with us! And come give us a try next year, with our upgrades, I'm sure you'll be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have had good luck with Comfort Suites for one or two-night stays while traveling. This hotel was no exception. The property looked attractive. The room was comfortable, clean, well-maintained and comfortable. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ordinary hotel breakfast, nothing special but not bad. Since my wife and I aren't big breakfast eaters, this is not really an issue. Price seemed decent for the area, and in relation to other mid-range chain hotels. This isn't the kind of place we would want to stay for an extended period, but comfortable and a decent value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We appreciate our guests writing reviews so much! Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $108 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Custer area hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. Comfort Inn & Suites offers a 24 hour fitness center, business center, and guest laundry, adult only swim time and an ATM. Offering large family suites, fast WIFI, amazing customer service, and local knowledge of the area. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. Stop by the front desk for many discounted tickets to local attractions and shows, always offering the best value for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing