We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Custer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Suffern, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Custer”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This property deserves a much higher ranking than #4 of 19 hotels in Custer. Breakfast was good, room quiet and comfortable, the rate reasonable and the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if we ever return to the Custer area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrose9121964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We hope to be #1 to all of our guests! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We strive to WOW our guests each and every time we can. Please come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    176
    39
    5
    9
See reviews for
202
186
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked into the Comfort Inn after a day of driving through the Black Hills. We were tired and were greeted by the very friendly front desk staffer, who had just put fresh baked cookies out on the counter. There's no better way to be greeted after a long day than that! The room was large, comfortable, and very clean. We could not have asked for better accommodations for the price. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of things to choose from - scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, fruit, and a variety of cereals and pastries. The location was perfect for us driving out to Wyoming when we left, but it is about 20-30 minutes from Mount Rushmore and almost 90 minutes from Badlands National Park if you want to be closer to those places.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hot, Fresh, and Delicious! We always want to welcome our guests with open arms and wonderful accommodations. Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Inn and Suites in Custer, SD for your hospitality needs. We can't wait to see you again soon! And thanks for writing a review of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel was nice & clean as it should be. The wi-fi signal was not strong enought to stay connected more than a couple minutes on the 3rd floor. The ad on the Choice Hotels website implied there was a micro wave & frig,,, but not in our room. It also took forever for the water to get hot enought to take a shower. The morning breakfast was typical and standard, not a plus or minus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear that you had issues with our wireless internet. We will be looking into that. We are going to upgrade our rooms this winter to include microwave and fridge along with more breakfast options. Thanks for staying with us! And come give us a try next year, with our upgrades, I'm sure you'll be satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have had good luck with Comfort Suites for one or two-night stays while traveling. This hotel was no exception. The property looked attractive. The room was comfortable, clean, well-maintained and comfortable. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ordinary hotel breakfast, nothing special but not bad. Since my wife and I aren't big breakfast eaters, this is not really an issue. Price seemed decent for the area, and in relation to other mid-range chain hotels. This isn't the kind of place we would want to stay for an extended period, but comfortable and a decent value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate our guests writing reviews so much! Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly staff, nice pool/ hot tub & fantastic continental breakfast! Didn't try out the fitness center but seen people using it when we were swimming.
The parking is fantastic and unlike other hotels we stayed at, they have an elevator. (Very important when your lugging kids & bags to the room).
I would stay here again in a second. We all absolutely loved it!!
No complaints... :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergs_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am so glad to hear you loved our hotel! Please come stay again and bring your friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is probably the nicest Comfort Inn in the USA-- clean, modern, huge rooms. Nice staff, with good local advise on a steak restaurant that provided us with a complimentary discount. Will definitely stay here next time in Custer. Front desk staff did a great job checking in multiple guests in just a very short time! We left for Douglas, Wy the next day, and Custer is in the perfect spot to make that route from Rapid City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lantirn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
AWESOME! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much! Your reviews of our hotel are such an important part of our success! Thank you for sharing, and thanks for staying with us! Come back again soon, we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this to be a great place for our vacation hub. Also day trip to Bad Lands National Park. Close for the night blast event at Crazy Horse. Just at the entrance to Custer State Park with hay ride/cookouts great facility and drive on Needles Hwy thru the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and thanks for choosing Comfort Inn and Suites in Custer, SD for your hospitality needs. We are located in a great central location for all your vacations needs. Please come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Custer area hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. Comfort Inn & Suites offers a 24 hour fitness center, business center, and guest laundry, adult only swim time and an ATM. Offering large family suites, fast WIFI, amazing customer service, and local knowledge of the area. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. Stop by the front desk for many discounted tickets to local attractions and shows, always offering the best value for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing