We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are not new, but it was big, clean, and quiet. We were on the back side, so the noise was minimal. The desk clerk who checked us in was just short of rude, not welcoming at all. Went we came back after dinner there were people waiting to be helped, the phone ringing, and no one seemed to be working. The breakfast was very good. The women working were very helpful. Lots of unruly children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We get better with your comments and we will make sure the necessary changes take place with our front desk agents. Please come and stay with us again soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 509 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We decided to stay in Custer so that we would be closer to Custer State Park and the Wind and Jewel National Monument caves. We stayed 2 nights. The room was clean and larger than we were expecting for the price. The variety of the continental breakfast was fairly standard for the ChoiceHotel chain, however, the staff was more attentive to how much food was remaining and were very quick to replace or refill an empty (or nearly empty) tray. We were too busy in the area to try out the pool or fitness area. The staff was very helpful and assisted us in choosing which cave we should visit (we only had time for one) and especially helpful when we had one daughter throw up in her bed at midnight. The front desk had some one come up very quickly with new sheets and a bag to take away the soiled ones. We would stay there again if we return to the Black Hills.

Room Tip: For a family of 5 the 2 Queens with a pullout was more than enough room for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peerallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here the week before the official start of the Sturgis motorcycle rally and were very satisfied with the property our entire stay. The room was clean and spacious, the bed slept wonderfully, housekeeping was thorough, everything worked. The breakfast had the usual good variety. We've had some different items like breakfast pizzas and breakfast burritos at other hotels, and it would have been nice to have something like that offered here, but we got by on the eggs, mini "omelets," bacon or sausage, toast, biscuits, gravy, cereal, donuts, fruit, juice and coffee. They had yogurt and waffles as well. Had to ask waitress for more plates one time and more juice cups another as well as spoons/forks. They use the luggage carts to haul in heavy food supplies which may explain why the cart was wobbly and didn't work smoothly when we took our luggage up to our room. The dining area was fairly spacious. It was a busy time of year, so I would imagine that normally, it's not quite as crowded in there. There are a few good restaurants withing walking distance to the hotel. It sits off the street and is nice and quiet. They provided us and other bikers staying with wipe down towels for our bikes which is wonderful. The manager told me we could even use the hose to wash the bikes if we wanted to. I just wish they had more than one elevator. The guests as well as housekeeping were all trying to use that one elevator. Also, the dryers in the laundry rooms are not efficient. They'll eat your quarters up trying to get a small load of clothes dry. Overall, this is a wonderful place and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swarren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are so happy that you chose us for your hospitality needs while in the Black Hills area. Thank you for your suggestions, we love it when ours guests give us reviews! We can improve on these areas and can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. If travelling to Crazy Horse or Mount Rushmore, the location is great.
We stayed for 3 nights and have no complaints. It appears to be a fairly new hotel. Everything was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a newer place and a good value for a Comfort Inn. No issues, and would stay again without hesitation. I do not know if this was true for all rooms, but our room was a corner room and was very large. I was also given a small gift bag in recognition of my upper status as a Choice Hotel frequent traveler. It was some water and candy type items, but the thought was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took our grandchildren (13 and 6) for a week vacation in the Black Hills area. We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Custer for 3 nights. Very nice hotel, close to restaurants and shops. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool every day before dinner. Also enjoyed the mini golf course right next to the hotel. The only complaint is that the coffee in the breakfast bar was very watery and weak!

We had connecting rooms that were clean and well furnished. The front desk was attended and there was always a friendly greeting. We ate at Buglin Bull and Cattleman Steakhouse restaurants, both were within a short drive and good. We are glad we used Custer for our "headquarters" and that we chose the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear face grass and a hill, rather than the parking lot in front. We were on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for eight nights at this location couldn't have asked for better staff or accommodations. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out everyone was friendly and helpful. Breakfast area was clean and well stocked. Amenities for motorcycle enthusiast were included to help riders keep their bikes clean. Close to numerous good restaurants. Staff knowledgeable about the area and activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
3.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
12 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#5 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Custer area hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. Comfort Inn & Suites offers a 24 hour fitness center, business center, and guest laundry, adult only swim time and an ATM. Offering large family suites, fast WIFI, amazing customer service, and local knowledge of the area. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. Stop by the front desk for many discounted tickets to local attractions and shows, always offering the best value for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing