We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, my highest recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay, my highest recommendation”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to the Black Hills, and I cannot praise this hotel too much. First of all, it was clean. Bed, room, bath, common areas showed high attention to cleanliness. Second, the staff were very friendly and helpful. And third, the price was right.

The room included a buffet breakfast, not the best I have ever had but perfectly adequate with waffles, eggs, biscuits, yogurt, cereals, fruit, muffins. One complaint, the coffee is a little wimpy (I never did find a good one in Custer). We also used the clean guest laundry. We did not use the inviting pool area or the fairly well equipped exercise room.

The room itself included a flat screen TV and a quiet and functional air conditioner. There was some noise from other guests, but the room was generally very solid and quiet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LittleBoyBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    175
    38
    5
    9
See reviews for
198
184
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Located in the " cool" Black Hills. We had a motorcycle group tour the black hills and this motel is so centrally located that it would work to be a base to see everything in the region including Custer state park; Sturgis; Needles highway; Mount Rushmore; Deadwood; Spearfish canyon;Devils tower etc. We stayed 2 nights and Rapid City on the middle night( Big mistake) I now wish we had all three nights here. Only negative, the first night was $90 on Wednesday and then almost doubled to $150 for Friday and they would not honor AAA or AARP memberships which I will ask AAA about..

Room Tip: Don't get the room next to the guest laundry or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomladtkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here after a long day visiting Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. What a wonderful place to walk into! Cookies at the front desk and a very friendly staff willing to get us settled in quickly. They recommended a restaurant in town that we not only got a discount at for staying at the hotel but was convenient and served fantastic food.
We all went swimming in the nice pool and the whirlpool was a welcome relief after the long day. They had a great breakfast selection and a comfortable dining area.

Room Tip: We used our AAA card and got a great discount on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The intial room we were given had not been serviced but they did give us another room next door and a $15 refund. We had paid for a view but if that was the view then it wasn't worth any extra money. Overall the room was larger than average hotel rooms and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was adequate but not great . The hotel is set back from the main road so there is no noise but very convenient for getting into the State park. The air conditioning unit was quite noisy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Good room, very clean very quiet. Only prob. @ check-in- they didn't get the request for the room we asked for. The room we got, however, was OK, so it worked out. The breakfast was not the best ever, but was adaquate. Facility is clean, up to date and very nice for the mid level price we paid. Staf was friendly and effecient.

Room Tip: ask for top floor or at least away from the laundry and service area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steverace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The wife and I have stayed here before. It was no disappointment. Friendly staff, good rooms and good breakfasts. They even have menus for most places in town.

It was all you expect from a Comfort Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: I prefer the back side of the hotel. You get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOWJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

As other reviewers have said, the rooms are very clean and we had a very spacious king bed room but only one comfortable chair for two people. We cannot understand why the rooms don't automatically have a fridge as other hotels we stayed at had fridges and we paid less for the rooms. Those rooms also had microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel was busy and the breakfast area was heaving each day we stayed; the staff were hard pushed to keep everything stocked especially since some people were taking items away for picnics! The breakfast was okay if you could get it. The internet connection was erratic to say the least; very unreliable. We liked the pleasant situation of the hotel and the fact that you could walk to good restaurants. Good and very clean laundry onsite. All in all not quite as good as we thought it would have been.

Room Tip: The hotel stands back from the road; we asked for a quiet room and were given a room at the back. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial mountain monument, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. The Flintstones Bedrock City theme park is across the street from this Custer, SD hotel. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. The Mammoth Site, the world's largest mammoth research facility, is about one hour away in the city of Hot Springs.Nestled in the majestic beauty of the Black Hills of South Dakota, the city of Custer has something for everyone. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing