We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our party of five stated in a huge room with queen beds and a rollaway bed. The room was very spacious and comfortable. It was situated perfectly for our needs as we only had to cross the street to get to our meeting place for our balloon ride at 5:30 am the next morning. The staff was very nice and answered all my questions about the area. They also gave me the extras - towels, shampoos, etc. - no matter how many times we went down to the desk, and always with a smile!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spiritwolf922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Were glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the comment on the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed for two nights with kids, and enjoyed a spacious suite with room for six. Location in the Black Hills was very central for visits to Mt Rushmore, Jewel Cave, Custer State park, and Wind Cave.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

We appreciate your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

WOW - this was the first time we stayed at a Comfort Inn and were blown away by the modern design, the new carpet and the cleanliness of the hotel. Even the laundry rooms were immaculate. Everything in our room exceeded our expectations, expecially the Manager Lorraine Himrich, who seemed to be always there during our several day stay. She was informative about what to do in Custer, and recommended several oustanding places to eat. Whenever we needed anythting she went out of her way to accomodate us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are taking care of our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved the place. The price was great also (AARP rate). Hotel was fairly new, rooms large and clean, helpful and considerate housekeeping staff, desk staff were friendly and helpful. Free breakfast had large selection and plenty of space to sit. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhare12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thanks for letting us know about your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I never travel without reservations, but the week before Memorial Day proved to be a week where it was easy. I loved stopping at the little towns and choosing my hotel of choice and in Custer, we chose this one. The young lady checking us in was very friendly and acted like she wanted our business. The room was pretty, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast and the attendant at breakfast was fantastic. We enjoyed our quiet rest in this very nice small town hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an aarp rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherrychipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is the only hotel/motel in all my travels to ever have charged me a one night's stay after I had already canceled my reservation well within the time period to do so without any penalties. After I spoke with the manager to rectify the situation, I was told that his "girl" doesn't make mistakes and I was stuck with the charge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peedeejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention about your experience you had, we have improved our service,quality and hope you will give us another chance.sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Had a three day stay in Custer and chose this hotel - never used a Comfort Inn before. I have a feeling that the quality was reflective of the area that gets tourism for short periods each year. Lady at the check in was clearly a frustrated employee, not rude but didn't seem happy in her work. Man that was there at other times spent more time in the lounge than at the front desk. No fridge in the room which is quite unusual but then the advertisement never said there was. The breakfast was pretty dismal - poor choices and in short supply. Only one quite young man attending to it for the most part and being constantly asked by different customers for more coffee etc. Fruit was basically oranges with the odd banana. Internet worked on the first day only and this was the only place we had a problem - so don't think it was my computer. Wouldn't go back but maybe the other hotels are similar. This did not reflect 3 stars from our experience on this 14 day trip - we stayed at way better places and sometimes they were only 2 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannahCuster, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

I apologize that your experience with our Comfort Inn did not met you expatiation's. I hope that you will find it to give us another chance, as the areas you mentioned have been improved.sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $145 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Custer area hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. Comfort Inn & Suites offers a 24 hour fitness center, business center, and guest laundry, adult only swim time and an ATM. Offering large family suites, fast WIFI, amazing customer service, and local knowledge of the area. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. Stop by the front desk for many discounted tickets to local attractions and shows, always offering the best value for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing