We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Dinner Option”
Review of Sage Creek Grille

Sage Creek Grille
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner Option”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ventured to Custer after a day at Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park for dinner, and enjoyed a very good dinner experience at The Sage Creek Grill. Just a tad pricey, without desert, would be its only shortcoming -- we rated it 4.0 across the board except value, and a 3.9/5.0 overall.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Walleye Pike and a Stroganoff dish that were tasty and well prepared. Service was attentive The ambiance was relaxed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    173
    55
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Delicious and relaxing”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were wanting good food and a relaxing atmosphere where we could enjoy each other. This was a fabulous place! Servers were friendly, informed, and prompt. Food was really good! We had the Bison Burger and Salmon Melt. The Butternut Squash soup was awesome! They have a good selection of beer and wine as well. This was the ideal place to end a long day in Custer State Park. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great salads, but very expensive”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife had some salads to go. The food was great, but very expensive I thought. Unfortunately, there are not many options offseason in Custer, and this place is actually ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukmc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good choice in a small town”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Custer, South Dakota, has few dining choices in October but when our earlier choices were unavailable we went to the Sage Creek Grille. While it has a higher end menu, we opted for the $10 burgers. The Pepper Burger was outstanding. The home fries were seasoned differently than the style of most restaurants, but it was the best option from among the sides. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ampko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Il
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Burger haven”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our group of 8 arrived on the first day of the new menu for post tourist season. Only open Tues and Wed 5-7 for burger nite. Choice of Buffalo or regular and many accompaniments to chose from. Many choices of beer on tap via a local brewery

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edsvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sage Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing