We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best Super 8 I have ever stayed at and would...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Fairbanks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“This is the best Super 8 I have ever stayed at and would...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the best Super 8 I have ever stayed at and would recommend it to anyone traveling in the Custer area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Custer. We appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    163
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
213
145
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
300 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a great location for our state parks trips, right near everything. The bed was so comfy, room was clean, staff was very nice, breakfast was less than typical for a Super 8, a little depressed there. Pool and hot tub were great, you could actually see it from the breakfast room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to write a review on your stay. We are happy to hear you had a good stay at our property. The location is great. We are within walking distance of restraunts, Bedrock Flintstones and the Magic Show. We hope that you will make your next stay in Custer the Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
419 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I booked this hotel online and it seemed to be of good value for the area. Here are my thoughts:

Good
- Bed was comfortable
- It was quiet when I was there
- Free wifi that worked
- Free breakfast (basic but ok)
- Friendly staff

Other
- Bathroom was really small but the sink is on the outside

We had a nice stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

After many noisy motels, it was a pleasure to have two quiet nights at this Super 8. No street noise in the back facing rooms. Free breakfast , hot tub and pool were all very enjoyable.
The senior discounted rate made the price reasonable.
Located near many state parks we enjoyed local caving attractions.

Room Tip: Room in the back, not overlooking parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. I am happy to hear that you had a positive experience at our property. The location is good for the travelers. The Bedrock Flintstones and Magic Show are adjacent to our property and other popular attractions are just minutes away from our area. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We got a room that was ok, we were tired, after a long day.. Was hoping to have a good breakfast since in the breakfast room showed signs that breakfast was biscuits and gravy,sweet rolls that could be heated up, yea right... Breakfast was a big disappointment, the signs were there still the next morning we were told biscuits and gravy were going to be Wednesday's breakfast and there was no sweet rolls ..... Why leave the signs up if they weren't going to have it.. We left and traveled to hot springs were we ate a great breakfast..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on the breakfast. We use your feedback to improve our business. I will look into the issue that you had mentionedand take the steps to improve. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My stay was very enjoyable, staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Room was kept clean and well stocked with towels soap etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Custer Super 8. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Tanya and her crew changed my mind. When my husband told me where he booked us I was less than thrilled but when we got here, the foyer was clean, warm and inviting. The room was small but totally functional, and clean and crisp. The pool area was inviting and the hot tub was heavenly! The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and internet included, suffice it to say, I will be booking at other Super8's and would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We are happy that you had a positive experience at our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next stay in Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Property: Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super Eight
Custer Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing