We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Ames
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We rented two two-room suites for an incredible price compared to competitors. Seven of us stayed in the hotel for one night and found everything to be just perfect for the price. The rooms were clean and comfortable, pool area was very nice, good service, good continental breakfast. We will definitely be back! Oh, and you can't beat the location for a Black Hills vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CusterSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your family vacation to the Black Hills, and that we could help to make your stay pleasant. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    163
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
213
145
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

A wheelchair accessible room should really have a roll-in shower, not a tub. People who use wheelchairs usually aren't able to step into a tub. Also, a vertical grab bar by the toilet would be useful for someone with little use of their legs to use to lift themselves up.

Also the walls could be soundproofed better.

Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CusterSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Even though our wheelchair accessible room is compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act standards, I understand it may not have been exactly what you needed or would have liked. We thank you for your suggestions at improving our hotel, and apologize that your stay with us was not super.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on short notice, without a reservation, and had everything we needed - modest cost, clean, quiet room, comfortable bed and pillows, reclining chair, and helpful staff. The room had good curtains that blocked the light from the parking lot and highway. The wi-fi signal was strong and there was no problem using a vpn. Our key card also provided a discount to either of two local restaurants - we had an enjoyable dinner at the Buglin' Bull. My wife had a cold and our waitress immediately brought a complimentary pot of steaming water and assortment of teas. The motel breakfast included fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and toaster waffles & French toast; all we needed to start the day. The hot tub was excellent after a long drive. This motel is convenient to Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore and other local points of interest. There is no elevator, so plan accordingly if you have heavy luggage. For the time of year, I recommend this Super 8 and I'd stay here again. HVAC unit worked well and wasn't objectionably noisy. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for a first floor room (no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cohighplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CusterSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could provide everything you needed while you were here! We hope that you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the 13th September 2012 for 4 nights. In fact we had booked for 3 nights and added a further night as we were enjoying the experience so much.
After a long day on the road, it's soooooo! nice to get a friendly cheerful welcome, and this is what this Hotel provides. Our room, as requested, was on the ground floor and faced the rear which meant that our view was restricted to a rock face, but luckily during our stay a sunny one. This clean room was a good size and had a TV with a working Channel Guide station (Yipee!). The best feature of the Hotel is the great breakfast room (It's much bigger than the pictures on the website suggest) which is alongside, but seperate from, the heated indoor pool. This brings me to the breakfast which of it's type was a great value extra. The Lady who looks after breakfast is a real gem, e.g. on hearing my comments about there being no English Tea available, brought me some for the next day (From Home!!!). She greated all guests into breakfast with humour and swift service. What a great lady.
Although a little out of town, a mile or so, this was no real problem and the road to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Hourse, and Custer State park goes through town.
Don't forget to call into the visitor centre, they have the keenest staff you'll ever meet, anywhere.
Well a good sized well managed Hotel with friendly, hellpfull staff and good sized clean rooms. Would we stay again - You bet. It's the best Super 8 that we've stayed in to date.

Room Tip: The best views of from the top floor front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CusterSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you come again. I'll be sure to pass along the message that you appreciated the breakfast attendant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We found the entire town of Custer to be friendly and welcoming and this included the Super 8 hotel. The staff answered our many questions patiently and gave suggestions freely. Our beds were soft but comfortable and we found no fault with the cleanliness. Breakfast was quite adequate and always ready early in the day. There is a nice pool but no fitness center. The fitness center was not needed as the motel is in easy walking distance of downtown and not far from a hiking trail. The location was easy to get in and out of and close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and the Needles highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CusterSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard on giving our Guest good Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Property: Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super Eight
Custer Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing