We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sightseeing Drive”
Review of Custer State Park

Custer State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Custer State Park Safari Jeep Small-Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 73,000-acre wilderness that draws comparisons to Yellowstone National Park when it comes to spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife.
Plymouth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sightseeing Drive”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Sylvan Lake and the Needles Highway offer especially beautiful scenery with many walking/hiking trails that can be explored. The Wildlife Loop road always delivers great buffalo viewing and wild donkeys.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,615
    524
    84
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dont waste your time”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was touring park with my wife on Are our bikes was flagged down by a ranger and was told I was speeding at 32 mph, rite beside a sign that said speed limit 35.No huge ordeal was told the rangers singled out people on Harleys. Stopped like 5 miles down the road so the wife could put on her jacket then was told if we stopped again we would get a 100 dollar ticket for no park permit. Yes we knew abought the permits but was told we were able to just drive thro it but one ranger. Couldn't even stop and get a bite to eat. the only good thing abought the park we seen was the old bull laying beside the road under a shade tree.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeRoy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Wow!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved driving the Wilderness Loop of this park. Animal spotting was so much fun. We saw buffalo, falcons, antelope, deer and mules. I stopped several times jut to take pictures of the windflowers and

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank erikafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Long boring drive with no wildlife”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Note to the rangers at entrance. When a family pulls up and starts asking about the wildlife trail, this is your cue to say there is no wildlife on the on the wildlife trail. Maybe you have other ideas to give them. But hey, you were not especially excited about your job and you collected our money and let us drive off. The scenery is not any different than the surrounding highways. I would pass on this if you are driving through and not staying in the area. By the way, the temporary sticker you put in our window is impossible to remove without a razor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TCAJ_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lots of Bisons”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

saw a few hundred Bison,perrie dogs,mule and wild donkeys on the day we toured the park.hope you have the same luck.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custer State Park also viewed

 

Been to Custer State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing