We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would like to go back!”
Review of Custer State Park

Custer State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 73,000-acre wilderness that draws comparisons to Yellowstone National Park when it comes to spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would like to go back!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a camper cabin here with my daughters for a week, it was PERFECT! I am not one to go on vacation to the same place twice, there is just too much of the world to see, BUT, this place was so perfect I may consider coming back! We even had a buffalo that walked right through our camp.

Helpful?
4 Thank LiberalMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,395
    496
    78
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best U.S. Location to see Wild Animals UP CLOSE”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A beautiful park with many animals to see see up close. we had donkeys sticking their heads in the car looking for food handouts. The buffalo roam in fields and on the roads, so they can be very close to your vehicle at times.
We also saw many prairie dogs, antelope, elk, eagles, coyote, and fox. The park also has various lodges, resorts and camping for those interested in staying overnight in the park. The whole Black Hills area is a great destination to visit because of the diverse attractions and numerous things to see and do.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“buffalo area!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great park, had the buffalo around the area. It was snowing but park was still fun to see the animal around the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful for any age”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Custer state Park is one of the best places to visit and camp we have found.
We now go there every year and look forward to it more than any other vacation we have had.
The scenery is breathtaking, the wildlife is abundant, and the people are as nice as you can find anywhere!
We have stayed in cabins, pop-up campers, and travel trailors.... Love every trip we have had there.
The bugs are almost non existant - which is wonderful!!! The evenings are so peaceful as we sit by the fire.
There is so much to do in the State Park, and Black Hills area-- it takes many trips to experience it all.
Campgrounds are always clean - including the nice bathrooms.
Can't wait to go back again this next summer!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Duck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

GREAT, GREAT state park! We loved the park and never tired of seeing the buffalo roaming all over the place. Amazing scenery as far as the eye can see in some places. Like in Yellowstone, the buffalo are not afraid to block traffic. When we visited there were a lot of calves hanging out with their mama and that was really cool/fascinating to watch. A review can't really capture the beauty and spirit of Custer. We did not stay in the park, but the camping areas looked really fun. Put the park on your bucket list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custer State Park also viewed

 

Been to Custer State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing