We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean with a great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You can not best this location. Mt Rushmore is so close as is Custer State Park etc...
The hotel is kept very clean. People working are very nice and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable.
The breakfast is served from 6.30am giving you an early start and its not bad.
Once breakfast is over the breakfast area is opening to relaxing. We spent many hours resting there after a long day of walking.
Only complaint is the nose. You can hear people running around the halls and walking over head.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rbl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to respond to our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel. Our employees take pride in the property. Sorry that things were a bit noisy, with several families traveling this time of year that can happen. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    174
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
240
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in an area where most places are not so nice and new. It was very clean and I liked that the breakfast area is very large to accomodate all the tourists each morning. The front desk staff is very nice and seem proud to work there. The fitness room is very basic, but I liked that it looked out to the outside and to the pool. There is a really nice backporch for the hotel with a firepit that many people enjoyed. Some rooms have balconies and we had nice view of the mountain behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Its nice to hear that our employees take pride in their jobs. We hope that you will stay with us again when in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed recently at the Holiday Inn Express in Custer, SD based largely on the good reviews we read on various sites. While the hotel had many nice amenities (pool, free internet, free breakfast) and a great mountain setting and location, overall it didn't quite meet our expectations. First off, the breakfast was pretty bland and even a little cold. We don't expect a lot with free anything, but having cold eggs, etc is a little disappointing. Second, when we used the pool the water temperature was too cold for any of us and we returned to our room a short time later to warm up. When we asked for clean sheets one morning we were told quickly by the front desk that they would have the sheets changed. When we returned to our room in the evening we found the bed made with the same dirty sheets and had to call the desk twice before sheets were brought up. Finally, on the day of our checkout a mystery $30 fee had been assessed and I had to go down again to the front desk to have it removed. Overall, it is a nice hotel, but disappointed based on the cost and our experiences elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff7520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not up to standard. We strive to do the best we can and looks like we felt short this time. We will take these comments to heart and learn from them to better serve in the future. Hope that next time you are in the Custer area, you will give us another chance to prove ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are going to Mt. Rushmore. Rooms are nice, property is clean, and the front staff is very helpful. They can't stop the kids from running down the hall, too bad their parents can't take care of them. Breakfast is a typical Holiday Inn Express: cereal, coffee, toast. I would stay away from the powdered eggs as well as the gravy. Pool is great, and the outdoor fire pit area is nice as well. Keep in mind that Custer is a small town and basically shuts down around 8 pm.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It gets a little crazy this time of year with all the families traveling, but that is to be expected. Glad you enjoyed the outdoor firepit, as that is very popular. Thank you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice nice nice. Spiffy clean and super helpful staff. By far best chain hotel we stayed at. Custer is tiny and rolls up the sidewalks at night so there's not much in the way of restaurants and things to do but staff recommended the captains table restaurant across the street for a nice steak and it was excellent. Breakfast always good, fresh with lots of daily variety. Nice sitting area out back with a waterfall...very pleasant or you can sit by the fireplace inside. 2 thumbs up. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spextec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Custer with us. We receive lots of comments on the waterfall and firepit, glad you enjoyed that. Hope to see you again when you are in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, IA
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights the end of May. The hotel seems fairly new, was clean, and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and had four pillows two soft and two firm. We stayed in a double queen room which included a fridge. We did not think the larger room with a loveseat was worth another 20-30 per night. The pool and whirlpool were both clean, but a little on the small side if the hotel was busy. Breakfast in the morning was good but didn't change much each day. It included biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage or bacon, pancakes, toast, bagels, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. If in the Custer area again, this would be my first choice!

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roses4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer, SD. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's ammenities and yes, the view at the back of the hotel is beautiful. We hope to serve you again on your next trip through Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while walking Crazy Horse and touring. This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express properties we have used. The breakfast buffet is outstanding for this genre. Big room, comfortable lobby, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time your in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Custer
Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing