We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for np and rushmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great hotel, good size room with seating area and dining table. Good gym and swimming pool.Staff very helpful and pleasant
Custer np and mount Rushmore all within 30minutes. Jewell cave even closer.
Deer feed behind hotel every night
Breakfast was average and spoiled by plastic plates and cutlery, that's a no no.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 559 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights over labor day weekend. The hotel and room were very clean. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the spa and the pool was a good size with a lot of decking and seating around it. Breakfast was good. The pancake machine did not work on two of the mornings but there were plenty of other options. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Only issue that we had was that the computer in the business center did not have Word so we could not print out our document but it was a minor issue. Would definitely recommend this hotel and it would be our first choice if we return to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the property have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2TravelfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here one night (9/11/12). We were in Room 300 which offered a lovely private balcony off the room that looks out over the hillside. We sat out there and enjoyed our wine/beer and watched the deer wander down the hill. Very quiet and peaceful. The room was clean and quiet. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful and checkin was quick. It was located close to Custer State Park which we really enjoyed. We did not take advantage of the breakfast (except for a coffee to go), but from what we saw it looked fine and substantial,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The carpet had not been vacuumed, the refrigerator had not been cleaned, surfaces were dusty, and there were stray hairs all over the bathroom, especially on the plastic stand that holds the washcloths. At checkout, they took a whopping 10% off the room rate for my inconvenience.

The carpet in the elevator was disgusting.

We had a suite, but it wasn't very roomy and the sofa was hard. There was no closet, just an armoire. The suite was not worth the extra expense.

Other than that, everything was just fine.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Susanarl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and our elevator. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class excellence. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a two bedroom suite with balcony. The weather was hot while we were there and the bees were visiting our balcony, so we really didn't use it. The spare bedroom was adequate, but to use the bathroom required coming through the main bedroom area. Enjoyed the numerous pillows. Air conditioning and shower were good. Some noise from Harley motorbikes in the evening. Breakfast was adequate, but not as good as Residence Inn breakfasts. We enjoyed seeing the deer grazing outside during breakfast. Convenient for touring the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baileybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is very conveniently located close to Wind cave, Jewel cave, Mt Rushmore, Crazy horse. Overall, the room was big, clean, and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Husband and I stayed two nights at the end of our vacation. The rooms were very comfortable and clean (quite roomy after our stay in Yellowstone). The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the typical hotel breakfast - not bad and much appreciated! Our GPS was a little confused and thought it was on the other side of the street but no big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.9 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $149 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing