We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$132
$108
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$70
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of $293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Valley Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rock Crest Lodge(Custer)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveler rating
349
191
37
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
191
37
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsnice hotelthe breakfast areablack hillscuster state parkpancake machinenice patiocrazy horsesmall waterfallfire pitbalcony roomjewel cavefree breakfastwind cavefront desk staffgreat roomthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 586 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Appreciated the clean laundry room and breafast of egg omlets, meat, hot cinnamon rolls with all the other items. Great location for visiting Custer State Park, Jewel Cave and Mt Rushmore. We enjoyed the hotel and area and extended our stay to 5 days.

Room Tip: Highy recommend for comfortable stay, great breakfast and laundry facilities
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 2000-mile drive through this area, Yellowstone, Jackson and SLC. We picked this hotel because of the rating on TripAdvisor. Absolutely no regrets!! From the minute we arrived to the time we left, the staff was helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and updated. The breakfast area was large enough to handle a large group and the selection offered for breakfast was generous. It is close to the center of town (although you probably need a car if you don't like long walks). Across the street from a Flinstones park, which was cute. We traveled to the Badlands, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse....all within perfect driving distance to the hotel. I read a lot about bus travelers making things a bit crowded at certain hotels and this one had none of that while we were there. Although we didn't use the pool, it has large glass windows that back up to a nice background. There is also a fire pit outside which had a large group around it so we didn't get to use it, but very nice touch. The hotel backs up to a pretty waterfall and rock garden with outdoor seating, directly on the base of a hill/mountain. The interior is very nice with a wooden staircase leading up to the 2nd floor. I used the small business center which was fine for a family vacation to check email. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

A very nice, centrally located, convenient hotel at the end of town, directly across the road from the "Flintstone" themed park. The town of Custer is small but has it all. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, hotels/motels, convenience store, a super(?)market (called Lynne's DakotaMart), even a florist, but best-of-all no schlocky-touristy souvenir shops that scream at you to buy! Yes, there are a couple of souvenir stores, but nothing at the level of Keystone .... Schlock-heaven. If you're into the souvenirs, goofy photos, tacky t-shirts, endless tourist-trap stores & restaurants, drive to Keystone. Please note that many of the Custer restaurants close at around 9:00, so make sure you don't stay out too late, expecting to roll in for late dinner. There is one late-open bar, called Dark Horse, that does serve food ... but "dive-y" at-best describes its aura. Enough exteriors ... let's review the hotel itself ...

Positives: We were warmly greeted in the multilevel-high, rustic-ly designed lobby by the out-going, friendly front-desk, especially by "Bob" who had a smile, and eagerness to please. Actually, no matter what time we walked by, he was always there with same friendly attitude. Thanks Bob & staff. Plenty of parking for this 3-level hotel/motel, with some rooms offering balconies. The hotel features a small indoor pool, fitness room, daily-complimentary-self-serve breakfast bar (which includes hot food - bacon, sausage, pancakes, muffins, cereals, coffee, juices, fruits, etc.... items change each day, but don't expect a made-to-order omelette) ... perfect for all the on-the-go tourists that use this somewhat new hotel. This hotel also features a pretty rock-waterfall outdoor patio, right outside the dining area, perfect for having breakfast. Note, however, there are no on-site restaurants, so if having dinner, you will have many choices in town (best to get there earlier than 9:00). The room was on the 3rd floor and was fine, clean and comfortable ... a standard double-bed, which included a microwave, comfortable bed, and some basic toiletries in the bathroom. The A/C worked well, though kinda spooky, as it kept blowing the soft, white drapery around ... a la ghost-like, but it kept the room comfortable. One thing lacking was an in-room safe, but not a major drawback. Best of all, if you needed any additional toiletries, they offered it (nice!), again, through the uber-friendly staff. We ate dinner in town (2) nights ... at the "Buglin' Bull" which is a combo restaurant on one side + sports bar on the other ... very nice, basic restaurant and the food was good ... more meat & potatoes kinda place, with friendly servers (expected in SD). The other time, with no other choice, given our late return to town, we went to the "Dark Horse", which was more of a dive-y bar that served food. Food was passable, bland and uninspiring at-best. Still, plenty of choices in town. Ask the hotel staff for their recommendations. The hotel is very convenient to Crazy Horse (less than 10 min), Mt. Rushmore (approx 30 min), the Caves, Custer State Park (about 10 min), etc..... but if going to the Badlands, a bit of a 'haul' to get to directly from here (approx 2 hours via I-90). So it is best to plan the Badlands (absolutely awesome !!!), on the same day along with visiting other places to mitigate the long drive, which is what we did. We went to Crazy Horse, then Mt. Rushmore in the AM, then onto the Badlands for the PM. Still, a bit to get there from Mt. Rushmore, but covered it ...even visiting on-the-way off I-90, the SD Air-Space Museum (exit 67B - free = 20+ planes, including B-1 and B-52 Bombers) + decommissioned Minuteman missile silo (exit 116, off a dirt road) ... very cool (and scary of its purpose). On another day, we went to Devil's Tower (stunning!) in Wyoming (after visiting Custer State Park), and that was approx. a 2 hour drive. Well worth it !!!! Custer State Park is beautiful, and got to see the roaming buffalo/bison & other wildlife, and beautiful vistas that is the Black Hills. Getting back to the hotel, ... still, we would NOT have stayed at any hotel in Keystone, which is essentially where Mt. Rushmore is. As mentioned before, Keystone is very touristy, and tacky/schlocky to the core. If you're in SD for the vistas, the monuments, & just enjoying the great natural offerings, why would anyone stay in Keystone?!?! Hill City seemed nice, and nothing like Keystone.

Negatives: The hotel's rates seemed a tad pricey. It was always a full parking lot each night though, so people were willing .. probably to defray the complimentary breakfasts. We enjoyed a special corporate rate that was lower. Additionally, separate from the hotel, we wish the Custer restaurants were open a little later, as we had activity-filled days and got back into town late each day. Understandable though. Be forewarned however, every night ... as we drove back into Custer via 16/385, and before making a right onto Mt. Rushmore Road to head to the hotel, we noticed the speed-limit dropped dramatically to 25 mph ... obviously b/c you're coming into town .... but every night, we saw the local sheriff pull over a car right after that right-turn. Caught !!!!! We presumed it was all about the speed, coming down 16/385. Watch out !!

Summary: Very good, clean, comfortable hotel, fairly convenient to the area attractions of Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park (Black Hills), and the Wind/Jewel Caves. It is a longer drive if heading to the Badlands or Devil's Tower-Wyoming. We enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, the clean rooms & comfortable beds, and had no complaints whatsoever. We'd recommend this hotel to all, families included. Happy Hotel-ing !

Room Tip: Just ask for your preference, very nice staff
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Climber809418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We took our family on a six day trip to South Dakota to see all the sites and we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Custer SD, it was a beautiful hotel.
It was so nice sitting around a gas Fire Pit at night on there nice patio with the waterfall coming down the hill.
The breakfast in the morning was wonderful, lots of room to sit. Very clean hotel. Would love to stay here again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Clean, nice indoors pool, good breakfast, they have an outside fire that we made smoires, and they even had the pokers at the front desk to roast the marshmallows, beautiful waterfall and nice outside seating. The price was higher than we wanted to pay, but the alternative was the ma pa motel that just wasn't up to our standards.

Room Tip: Go online and get it $8 cheaper one day in advance
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews