We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of updates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bambito Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volcan
oklahoma
2 reviews
“In need of updates”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I used to visit the hotel a lot, more than 15 years ago and recently I visited and found out that is needing a lot of update. But don't get me wrong it is still a lovely place with the perfect climate and the great views and good food and very many interesting activities. Still probably the best hotel available in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
46
51
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Stayed here for a few days during a business trip. There didn't seem to be too many options in Cerro Punta. During our stay at times we seemed to be the only ones at the hotel (with the exception of the Mother's Day luncheon....which was packed!)

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bus to Cerro Punta/Volcan pass by right in front of the hotel so it makes getting around easy and cheap (about 65 cents).

The hotel was clean, and rooms were simple. My shower didn't have hot water and came out like a strong hose though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octobergal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

This hotel is awesome. The price was $99 a night and it looked as if you where staying in the swiss alps. The hotel is situated outside Volcan and is surrounded by mountains. The hotel grounds had a huge pond in the front, amazing flowered gardens and a bamboo forest leads you to the separate tennis court, pool and play area. The rooms had incredible vaulted ceiling, were ultra clean, and reminded me of some 5 star resort that I had stayed in. The staff were great and willing to get you whatever you needed. The mini bar was inexpensive so you could load up on goodies. Even the restaurant blew me away with it great food, atmosphere and staff. I will absolutely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Merritt Island, FL
We visited friends who lived in Panama. They made all arrangements and we drove up from Panama City. The change of scenery varied from tropical, to arid plains, then lush forest. As we departed David and started our climb in altitude to Bambito, the vegetation became more and more lush, calla lilies growing wild in roadside ditches, wild impatients waist deep on the side of the road. Bambito is not a resort for children. It is for couples or individuals looking for a quiet time to relax and explore the surrounding areas. Your visit, like many destinations, will depend upon when you go. Panama's vacation season is not the same as the USA. Do your research before you go. Our timing was wonderful. Great food, service, accommodations, and hotel grounds. Our daily trips further up the mountain were beyond description. Purebred horse farms at 10,000' elevation, massive commercial flower farms, giant vegetable farms, waterfalls, raging rivers, orchids, and massive quantities of gorgeous wild flowers only found in our nurseries and plant centers. To drive close to the top of the volcano, you will need a four wheel drive vehicle. We hired a guide with vehicle. This area is one of the best kept secrets we have ever found. We toured several flower operations and farms for free, no prior arrangements and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Our lack of Spanish was not a problem. One reminder, as in all resorts, they do change over time with new owners and management changes. We had a magnificent experience. Oh, due to the altitude, it will be chilly at night, pack accordingly. Daytime weather is absolutely beyond heavenly.

  • Liked — Location and view.
  • Disliked — nothing specific to point out.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCrow_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Stopped at this hotel to get a room for the night after hiking all day on Quetzal Trail.

Got a room right away, and got a rate that was much cheaper than their advertised rate. Whoot!

Our room was super nice, with a large bed (which has been lacking at other hotels in this country, LOL). Really nice balcony that allowed us to look over the pond and the grounds. Loved that. Bathroom was very nice as well.

They had a pool and jacuzzi indoors that was nice. We used the jacuzzi that night and were the only people in there. Loved it.

Also, they had a building for massage by appt. We felt like getting one, and they called at 5 at night and had someone come to give us both massages. What service!! And great massage.

Breakfast was really good and included with our room.

Highly suggest this hotel.

  • Liked — Pool, Massage Building, Grounds were gorgeous, Balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

nice place, many on-site facilities (see hotel info), that is good because there isn't much going on in the area. great trout baked a variety of ways in the restaurant. we were there off season so there weren't too many other people there and the off season rates are good. Rooms were ok, staff helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amortotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

We decided to stay in El Bambito for a couple of nights in July 2006. I traveled with 12 people which 7 were children ranging from 3 to 15 years old. They placed us in the lower level. At night there was a foul smell in the rooms, we could not figure out were it was coming from. The service in the Dining room was horrific some of the breakfast was included in the rate. My son wanted a banana i was charged close to $3.00, absolutely outrageous! They never got our order correct considering we were the only ones having breakfast and that we gave them the orders in spanish. Later we wanted to go horseback riding and there were no horses available. When i requested to speak to a manager there was not one in sight. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. It does not deserve even one! I would never stay there again!

Helpful?
8 Thank JenWaverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcan
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
67 reviews
9.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
12.2 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bambito Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bambito Resort

Property: Hotel Bambito Resort
Address: Via Cerro Punta | Village Of Bambito, Volcan 0424, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Volcan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volcan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bambito Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bambito Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bambito Volcan
Hotel Bambito Resort Panama/Volcan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing