We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Get Enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Totumas Cloud Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
Ranked #1 of 4 Volcan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't Get Enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mount Totumas is a wonderful place. Whether you are interested in the natural history elements or just want a quiet retreat from a hectic lifestyle, it is worth your effort to get there. The American owner/operator, Jeffrey Dietrich and his gracious wife, Alma, make very accommodating hosts that will do everything in their power to arrange just about anything for you, including horseback rides, guided hikes through the forest, or just hanging out on the back deck surrounded by several species of hummingbirds. I was there in May and the quetzals were calling and flying back and forth between several large trees that surround the premises, and I loved hearing the bell birds calling from their perches. I originally intended to stay for a couple of nights, but enjoyed it so much that I ended up there for 5 nights before moving on to explore other areas of Panama. You don't have to be adventurous or even have an interest in birds or animals to enjoy the peace and solitude of Mt. Totumas Cloud Forest Reserve. I intend to return with my granddaughters at some point, so they can see the quetzals too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I truly loved this place! It was absolutely beautiful! Tucked away in the beautiful rainforest of Panama, this place is a gem! My son and I stayed in the large house and it was a great fit for us. The surroundings are absolutely breath-taking and perfect for hiking, horseback riding, or just hanging out. Jeff, Alma, and Karen (sorry for the misspell) and friends were also staying in the house and we could not have planned for a better time. We had a blast with these fun loving folks! Mount Totumas is the perfect place for people who love to be steeped in nature and yet have the amenities of home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room off the hallway from the kitchen. Perfect place to hear the rain on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I highly enjoyed the amazing natural environment and relaxed friendly atmosphere we experienced at Mount Totumas.

The quiet solitude coupled with active weather patterns, many beautiful birds and the calls of nearby howler monkeys made for an awesome, unworldly and spectacularly invigorating vacation.

The Karrelitz family will never be the same after our Mount Totumas experience.

We plan on returning with friends in the future and my sister Cheryl is thinking of getting married in the cloud forest.


Dr. Evan Karrelitz Phd.
Professor of Bio-Diversity and Sustainability.
University of Stronso

Room Tip: Bring binoculars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My group consisted of 5 entomologists in search of new discoveries -- we made several. The accomodations were very cozy and our hosts, Jeff and Alma, were delightful and knowledgeable about the ecosystem and Panama in general. The location is dramatic and ecologically exciting. Strongly recommended for anyone who wants to hike the trails and enjoy the monkeys, birds, and general ambience of a tropical cloud forest adventure.

You absolutely need 4WD to reach it, however--or arrange with Jeff to pick you up in Volcan.

Room Tip: All rooms are basic but comfortable -- the new guest cabin is a delight, and includes a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Jeffrey and his staff have been great and friendly. The house where we stayed at is even nicer than in the picture. amazing relax, you are right in the forest, you can hear many different birds singing just for you, and also some monkeys a little more far away.
Reinaldo took us on a 2 hours hike and it was delicious. I wish we had more time to spend there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossana1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcan
5.4 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
11.8 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Petite Maison Lodge & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hostal Victoria Volcan Chiriqui
5.8 mi away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Totumas Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Totumas Cloud Forest

Property: Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
Address: Los Pozos, Volcan 0424, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Volcan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Volcan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest is a 400 acre eco resort with private cabins and rooms located in a remote cloud forest wilderness bordering La Amistad National Park in western Panama. In 2014 we just completed the Bellbird Lodge perched on a ridge with views directly on to the canopy of the Cloud Forest. The lodge has a restaurant and 5 private rooms with bath and common area living area with large windows with stunning views into La Amistad National Park. Access to Mount Totumas Cloud Forest requires a 4WD vehicle and we provide transportation services from Volcan, David and Boquete for those guests that do not have their own 4WD vehicle. For guests with 2WD rental cars we provide a secure place to leave your vehicle in Volcan. There are 9 trails covering over 40km that provides access to 2nd growth and old growth forests, pastures, riparian and edge habitat. The Resplendent Quetzal, Three Wattled Bellbird and 200 other bird species have been recorded. Three species of monkeys and a great diversity of flora await you on the trails. We have accommodations that fit every budget from private rooms sharing kitchens where guests can prepare their own meals to exclusive cabins and full service restaurant. Great for families, birdwatchers, and those looking for a pristine natural environment. Climate is perfect for hiking, mornings are cool and mid day reaches warm but not hot temperatures. We are 1900m above sea level and border directly La Amistad National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount Totumas Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest Panama/Volcan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing