We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Volcan”
Review of Volcan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcan Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Volcan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Volcan Lodge for 2 nights. There isn't much to do in this little town if you are just passing through, so this is an ideal place to stay; you have a place to sleep, to drink, and to eat all under one roof. If you haven't done much traveling in central America, you may need to adjust, as things are different in Panama, but this place will grow on you. I enjoyed relaxing on the balcony, with wi-fi access and a hammock. Jorge and Vicky are the hard-working owners of this successful establishment, and they are delightful! I can't imagine staying any where else in Volcan!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CGGlobeTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Volcan Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent one night here, and we thought it was charming and just perfect for what we needed. The food in the Restaurant Mana was great. The sloppy joe and hamburgers were great. Jorge and Vickie were super friendly and helpful. The room was simple, but very clean with a private bathroom. The lodge has a comfortable, rustic atmosphere. The price was reasonable and included a fabulous breakfast, delicious omelettes and yummy fresh fruit. Next time we are in Volcan, we will definitely stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texas_Surfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I really liked this place. Stayed for about 5 days back in July 2011.. It felt like we were staying at our cottage back in Muskoka, Canada or perhaps at ski lodge. VERY clean, no bugs. Jorge and his family are very hospitable and accommodating. Consistent food and service in the great onsite restaurant. I think we ate there almost every night. Returned in January 2012 and the place is just as great. Friends that live in Volcan eat at the restaurant all the time. No complaints. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanadaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We didn't stay at this lodge, but know of it since we live in Panama. We visited Mana Restaurant for lunch while our family was visiting. Having known Vicky and Jorge and their culinary expertise and desire to please, we were again pleasantly astonished at what a great lunch we all enjoyed. Three of us ordered curried fish; I had a side salad; the fish was delicious, perfectly cooked, the coconut curry sauce a fine blend of curry spices and heat. The mixed greens were served with a blend of sprouts and other very fresh ingredients, accompanied by a balsamic viniagrette on the side. One other in our party ordered the pork which again was wonderful and all of us were totally satisfied and happy! The portions were generous and very reasonably priced for the quality of the food. We WILL visit them again. The restaurant had other patrons and I think the lodge was full, a tribute to the hard work of Jorge and Vicky.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank yknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at this attractive lodge in the rustic town of Volcan. The rooms were clean, attractive and large with comfortable beds but the hot water was infrequent and ran out fast. The host was pleasant and helpful directing us to some lovely sights in the area. The restaurant was very good especially by local standards. The price was reasonable. We arrived in mid January and the weather was just perfect and so an evening coctail on the breezy porch on teh second floor was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ned2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We spent three nights at this charming B&B in Volcan run by the excellent hosts, Vickie and Jorge. They can provide lots of info for passing tourists and prospective immigrants alike, in both English and Spanish. The rooms are simple and the food is delicious. We ordered endless coffee (nice and strong) with breakfast and always stayed for dinner, sampling the meal-sized soups and salads, as well as the meat and fish dishes. All were great. We became known as the hungry Canadians. There are four or five rooms on two floors- both floors have lovely covered verandas for outside leisure. The first floor café serves as a hub for the small and eclectic mix (Americans, Italians, Russians, Dutch and Chinese while we were there) that comprises the expat community. Volcan is small (pop’n ~10,000) with good grocery and liquor stores and a seemingly endless number of bakeries. It is a good central location from which to launch day trips to surrounding sights (e.g. a coffee farm, a site with hieroglyphics – Barriles) and a small trout hatchery (with fish and pay opportunity). Also it is just a short hop (by car, local bus or cab) to the little towns of Cerro Punta and Guadalupe, nestled in the mountain foothills. Here you can visit a famous stud farm with tours provided and the local orchid farm (Finca Dracula). You can hike alone or with a guide in the National Park in search of the elusive resplendent Quetzales. We visited Volcan at the end of the rainy season when it was cool and wet (early November) and did limited exploring – well worth a visit in warm, dry weather.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I recently finished a stay with theVolcan lodge. I was not only impressed with the rustic ambiance and historical setting, but the owner/operators were a class act. First rate service with comfortable rooms and a restaurant to remember. The menu offers local and American cuisine with superb quality and taste at a remarkably affordable price for the quality of food items. Freshest vegetables I have ever had in Panama. I strongly advise those coming to Panama to not miss out on this establishment. Close to the national parks, Volcan Baru and Costa Rica Border. This is definately a return visit accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Socalmike63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcan
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
#4 of 4 in Volcan
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Victoria Volcan Chiriqui
4.8 mi away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcan Lodge

Address: Across From Bakery | Se toma la entrada que esta frente a la panaderia volcan ,50mts ,casa color beis de madera de dos plantas, Volcan, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Volcan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Volcan
Price Range: $35 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcan Lodge Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing