We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hot Waterfalls

So much more fun than sitting in a hot pool. You can even climb the falls and jump off. Bit off... read more

Reviewed September 13, 2018
Pat H
,
Auckland, New Zealand
amazing

the hike in is very short, and I was accompanied by a "guide", although one could very easily find... read more

Reviewed May 24, 2018
chey_baybee
,
Fort Collins, Colorado
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
54
15
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
15
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk rio dulce the river be careful local children nice walk half day trip water coming entrance fee finca el cool water definitely worth a visit gain access worth the effort hot shower begging for money old man
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

So much more fun than sitting in a hot pool. You can even climb the falls and jump off. Bit off the beaten track but worth the effort.

Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

the hike in is very short, and I was accompanied by a "guide", although one could very easily find the waterfall without one. I don't know if this is standard, or if he came along because I am a single female and he was worried. The falls are beautiful and the water is clean and clear. I was startled several times by little fish nibbling on my feet.

Thank chey_baybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

A hot waterfall falling into a cool river. It was amazing!! We took a collectivo from Rio Dulce, It’s about a 45min drive out. We left our packs with the little restauranty place nearby and paid the old man in the cowboy hat to gain access as it’s on private land. There was a local guy who showed us how to swim up under the rocks into little air pockets and behind the river waterfall, an unreal experience! Highly recommended!!

1  Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

If you go all the way to the Rio you must visit the fort, the hot water falls and take a boat ride down to Livingston just to see the thousand foot cliffs and jungle right next to the river.

Thank ElScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Last holy week my family and I went on a road trip to the northern region of Guatemala. Stopped by Rio Dulce and after a quick sight viewing we went to Finca El Paraiso, a 30 min. ride from Rio Dulce's bridge, It is located just aside the road and after a 10 minute walk we were amazed by the beauty of this hot springs. The best part is when we came inside the natural pool and below the springs, the water is burning hot but it turns cold as it touches the natural pool. An unforgettable experience.

Thank aamm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

My kids had a grand time and so did I.
The place is incredibly beautiful. A scorching hot waterfall into a cool mountain river. There are little ledges to go under, under the waterfall itself and it is incredible to experience.
Little niches to cool off or warm
Up depending on what you need.
There are some places to jump off although the place is not that deep so be careful.
The waterfall is about half way between rio dulce and el estor.
We stayed at a wonderful family owned hotel en El Estor called Hotel ecológico Cabañas del Lago. A really good place to stay with kids.
We drove back to the termal spring and spent a good 3 hours there.
There is a Q15 pp fee but apparently its negotiable. We asked how much for the kids and he asked for Q60 altogether we had picked up a backpacker in the hotel too so it was 3 kids and us and the car for which initially he had asked another Q15.
It’s a 10 min walk along the river to get to the waterfall.
Definitely worth a visit. It an
Unique place

1  Thank nalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018

We stopped off here just before lunch having left Antigua at 4am. It was a lovely spot to freshen up. There is a small entrance fee that supports the local community. The changing facilities are a little rugged, and you can expect to get hassled a little by local children begging for money. If you ask they will sell coconuts and fruit. Recommend buying something from them rather than just giving money. It's a short walk from the carpark to the springs, but worth the effort.

Thank NZ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Lovely little stop off as part of a longer day exploring around Rio Dulce. Easy to find and a refreshing stop.

Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

Where else do you get a hot spring and a cold spring coming together to give you an adjustable shower--move one way and it gets hotter, move the othew way and it gets colder. Pretty amazing.

1  Thank mrjerryjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

A natural miracle . . . a hot waterfall. Set in a beautiful creek side setting, this is worth visiting the area all by itself. For a meager 15Q per person, you gain access to the creek and its hot waterfall. I must go back.

Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews