We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Remate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Guatemala city, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The best hotel in Guatemala, period. 30 mins to Tikal and right infront of the clean, safe lake. Inside a national reserve! Food was great also...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelGringoPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I spoke to Anne on Thursday to reserve two cabin rooms for the following day. She took my credit card information to confirm the reservation however, unfortunately, after a long trip we arrived to find one of the two cabins occupied. We were offered the available room for $135 including breakfast and dinner for three of us. For a small-dark room this was about $70 over-priced. It's a nice location with great access to the lake but I don't recommend making plans to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CA-PRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hotel is truly a gem...peaceful, beautiful and with great food. It is not for the true budget traveler but if you can afford to splurge for a few nights, this place is amazing. Right on lake peten with great swimming and great hiking nearby. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brihavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Hotel Gringo Perdido is a nice, natural, hidden lodging near El Remate, between Flores and Tikal. It's nice to be away from the more compact Flores but overpriced Tikal. Gringo Perdido is naturally gorgeous - we had our own private dock with hammocks on the lake. The food was good though it was international fare so it wasn't quite typical Guatemalan food if you crave local fare. But it was good and included in the price.

Perhaps the only negative of staying there was that there weren't many staff around to assist with arrangements or even to talk to. The staff were very nice but knew absolutely no English and if you're Spanish isn't good it can be a struggle to communicate. Based on the website and prior correspondence, I was under the impression there would be more staff to help arrange transportation and what not. Also, the website makes it appear as though a lot of people stay there and they do indeed have a lot of space. But, for two nights there were only 4 of us and the last night it was just myself and my husband. While the solitude was GREAT, at times you almost wished there were a few other people around. So I wouldn't make it a complaint, just different. It's also about a 35 minute walk to the town, El Remate, so you really are on your own here. They have two dogs that act as watch dogs and friendly companions while you stay there.

At night the stars are bright, wildlife comes alive, and it's a serene experience. So if you like peace and quiet and natural surroundings, this is a great place. I would recommend it for anyone like this type of experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Breeze
Hotel Sun Breeze
#2 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ribiera del Lago Peten Itza
Ribiera del Lago Peten Itza
#4 of 4 in El Remate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gringo Perdido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gringo Perdido

Property: Hotel Gringo Perdido
Address: | Reserva de Biosfera Maya, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hidden gem of Guatemalan tourism, Hotel Gringo Perdido is a tranquil, ecological paradise located off the quiet shores of Lake Petén Itzá in El Remate, Petén. Gringo Perdido is an ideal place to get in touch with nature, appreciate and learn about Guatemalan culture and visit many of the breathtaking archeological sites of great international prestige. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing