We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Tikal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We loved this hotel and the town of El Remate. A much nicer location to spend a couple of days in than Flores. Woodwork in this town is amazing, higher quality and more reasonable than anywhere else.

The hosts at this hotel were perfect. Food is amazing. The trip to Tikal was breathtaking (do the 6am tour - we were there alone for at least 1 hour - but make sure you catch your 12pm bus back or you will be fleeced by other bus drivers pretending to take you back for free). Be careful going to temple VI (only go in a group).

Swim in the lake and take in the beauty and culture of this town. it is idyllic!!

My husband and father went on the canopy tour to Ixpanajul (excuse spelling) - they had a brill time and did also fdid the sky walkways. It is better to pay for tours in local currency than USD (you can change the USD at the hotel)

*****Beware if you are going from Flores to Belize City. We got the Linea Dorada bus that should take you direct and got thrown off at the Guatemalan border as buses are not allowed to do drop offs in Belize from Guatemala! It was dead easy to get from the border on public transport ($8 to belize City) but it is just better to just use public transport from the start.********

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nademurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2009

I spent a lot of time researching our best option for a place to stay during our time in Tikal. I decided upon La Casa de Don David, and it met all of my expectations.

Please believe me when I say that it is the best option in the Flores/El Remate/Tikal area. It is a great value, and very comfortable.

The hotel exchanges dollars for quezetales at a better rate than any other place around. It also provides free purified water (which is very nice), free internet, and free dinner. Seriously, my wife and I stayed there for what a hostel in most places would cost.

It is also closer to Tikal than Flores, and we were the first ones at the Park, and had the Grand Plaza all to ourselves for 90 minutes (I'll remember that for the rest of my life). The hotel location (El Remate) is also closer to Belize, so the bus companies will gladly pick you up at your hotel on the way to Belize City.

There is a cool bar down the street, with a rope bridge that overlooks lake Peten Itza.

I've had friends that stayed at Tikal and in Flores, I even checked these places out in person while I was there........I'm very glad that we stayed at la casa de don david.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The grounds and setting are peaceful and beautiful. Located right on a lake you can walk out behind the hotel to the end of the pier and watch the sunset. Onlyl about a 20 minute cab ride from the airport in Flores and only about a 30 minute shuttle ride to Tikal which was great because we were then able to be the first to the park in the morning. The shuttle picks you up straight from the hotel. The service was great. Very kind and hospitable people - primarily a family-run business. The free Internet was great as was the free purified water so you could fill up the bottles that they gave you when you arrived as many times as you wanted as well as any other bottles you had with you. Dinner was included w/the hotel cost and you were limited to what you could order w/out having to pay extra for dinner, but we managed to stay in the limit (doesn't include drinks). The town is TINY and definitely not a place you want to go if you're looking for a drinking/partying college scene. But the town's bars sufficed for us and we met some people who were also staying at our hotel that we were able to hang out with and it was relaxing and fun. The hotel grounds are kept up very well and there are hamocks on every porch of every room that you can lay in to enjoy it. Nothing I didn't like about this place - truly. Keep in mind you're not staying at the Marriott or a major resort so don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

A conveinent spot when visiting Tikal. Rooms are adequate, showers are minimal as are beds and pillows. There tended to be a background smell of septic system.. food in restaurant reliable and a good value. No need to stay here for too long.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmrxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We loved our stay here for 3 nights. We were in 3 different rooms, as there were 7 of us, and loved the relaxing atmosphere. Staying here cuts off alot of driving time to Tikal. We went and toured the park after 3:30 one night and went for free the next day. This was a good way of seeing everything without getting exhausted and during the evening we were able to see tons of animals and barely any people. We ate all of our meals at the hotel and were very happy with the food and reasonable prices. Rooms are basic, but we spent most of the time sitting in the outside areas anyway. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We loved this place. We stayed here as our launching point to explore Peten and Tikal. We traveled with our 3 young children, ages 10, 7 and 7. I highly recommend this for any family traveling with children over the age of 5. After 2 days in Guatemala city we were ready to be somewhere that the kids could run and we didn't have to worry, this is that place.

Don David's reminded us of those old motor lodges you'd stay at during those long family road trips. Nothing fancy just the basics. Your own hot shower, toilet and sink, a front porch to look over the common yard, clothes line to dry things out on, beds and a dining table and chairs. And of course the common eating area and store. What else would you need in this part of the world? They provided sheets, blankets, towels and fresh drinking water, fill your bottles all you want.

The store had all the conveniences you needed, forgot sunblock? They have it. Need bug spray? They have it. Dying for a cold ice cream bar in the sticky heat? Good Humor is there! Do you need an ice cold beer? Look no further. Exhausted and don't want to go out, a home cooked meal would hit the spot? The restaurant is it.

Would you rather spend your money locally than on some hotel chain? Don David is it. His employees are local, bright, smartly dressed, well informed and polite.

David himself is a sweet man, ex-pat from the US he built this place himself and he's adding on apartments for extended stay visitors. His wife Rosita was incredible she helped us along in ideas for things to do besides Tikal that would entertain the children. Speaking of which David had our kids all pumped for a special surprise on our last night, they had to be good. Sure enough he delivered with a tour of his gardens at night. He took the kids around and showed them lemongrass, all spice, banana tree, a little plant that you can make "go to sleep" a tree that can't live without a certain kind of ant and the ant can't live without the tree and finally tarantula's. (ok don't be scared people they are there and you didn't even know it) David explained the habitat of the spider to our children and they loved it.

I can't say much else about this place, lake Peten Itza is incredible clear warm water, we loved it here and hope to return. If you have any questions don't hesitate in contacting us for feedback.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stayed here a couple of days as walk-in's mid-February. Grounds are beautiful, restaurant is well-stocked and has good standard and vegetarian menus including daily specials. Staff is especially friendly and helpful and the amount of information available for touring the area is amazing. Don David is on site, friendly and helpful as well. Another plus is the good internet connection, offered for free to guests. Rooms are simple, but spotless and unlike other places in the region everything works (ie shower drains, toilet flushes, water is hot).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
248 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
340 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing