We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic guest house but rooms could use some sprucing up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This guest house was a fun and perfectly adequate place to stay although the rooms are showing their age. But I recommend LCDDD because it did everything well. The staff was super responsive in answering emails before our stay and helping us out with tours of Yaxha and Tikal during our 2 days in El Remate. This is a professional guest house. The food was unexpectedly good. Real good. Everything our group of 6 tried was top shelf, and I am thinking longingly about my piece of guava pie a la mode as I write. Although I recommend skipping dinner one night for the legitimate Italian restaurant Las Orquideas down the street. The hotel grounds show an unexpected attention to detail. Spend some time lounging by the lake, ordering cocktails from the Toucan Express, and touring the grounds to examine the garden and contemplate the Mayan symbolism. The rooms, however, need some work. 10 and 11 are dated. They are clean, but the bed and shower and towels are dingy. Yes, each has a hammock, but I can't recall a more uncomfortable one. But it is beyond the rooms that LCDDD really shines as a great base to relax and to explore the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We couldn't believe what we got for our money. A comfortable room with air conditioning, laundry service, meals and afternoon drinks with a beautiful view. Two days and right Round $100 Canadian! What a bargain - especially since the food and drinks were so good.

Room Tip: As far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahEOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place is gorgeous, and sits overlooking the lake. It has a huge garden, well looked after, and a beautiful viewing deck which is great during sunsets over the lake. The rooms are clean, and pretty, and the staff are so friendly, helpful and will go beyond to make sure you're taken care of. While staying at La Casa De Don David, you will receive a dinner or a breakfast meal for free, which we took full advantage of after our long bus ride and our day at Tikal. The tour organized for us to Tikal was really good, our group was small and intimate, and our guide highly knowledgable. I highly recommend staying here while visiting Tikal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I recommend this hotel. It just on the way to Tikal and Yaxha. Personal is realy helpful. Hotel has very nice garden whith a description of all exotic plants. Ask not to stay in the room under restaurant if you are not an early bird. Visit Yaxha for a sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_and_Lubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013 while traveling through the region with my fiance exploring and hiking the archeological sites. The hotel is located just on the edge of Remate and a short walk from Cerro Cahui.

The room was perfect for what we needed and the prices were very reasonable for both food and drinks. The hotel is about a 30-40 minute taxi ride to either Tikal or Yaxha and the hotel front desk can book tours for you if desired. We opted to do a sunrise tour of Tikal, which we highly recommend, and hired a RT taxi to take us to Yaxha without a tour guide. There is also a public bus stop out front which can take you to both the airport and Tikal for much cheaper than a taxi, it just makes a lot of stops and gets really crowded.

The hotel itself if located on the lake (you cannot access the lake directly, need to walk around the property) and has a sundeck with express food and drink service. There are restaurants and small convenience stores within walking distance but we opted to eat at the hotel every night as dinner was included. The room was clean, had a hammock outside and the owner was very friendly. Overall would definitely recommend staying here over one of the hotels at Tikal which have absolutely nothing near by.

Room Tip: Opt for a deluxe room, its worth the few extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

this is a perfect place to stop at after tikal. the hotel has beautiful grounds, tremendous effort to educate people about the Mayan culture via the gardens, views of the village lake that are clean and serene. Rooms are clean, hot water available 24 hours and drinks good. Food is a step up from Tikal Inn but nothing to write home about. The staff and Don David make your stay very enjoyable. There is a lot of information and access to the hotel PC to help you plan your next leg. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there, it was relaxing and comfortable after two days of hiking in Tikal.

Room Tip: avoid a room under the restaurant for obvious reasons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We greatly enjoyed the our recent stay at Casa De Don David in El Remate. Owners and hosts David and Rosita offered a warm and genuine welcome. The property features beautifully kept grounds, garden and lake view platform. A massive Ceiba tree is set in the centre of a circular garden with Mayan cardinal points, native flora and interpretive information. Check out the David's ingenious "Toucan Express" - it will deliver your evening margarita by a miniature cable car from the restaurant to the lakeside viewing platform... Lot's of fun! Close to Tikal, great staff, great value, hidden gem.

We loved it. Dave and Shelley, March 2014

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank DavidandShelley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
671 reviews
17 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
369 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $57 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing