We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent interim stop with conveniences of a town but feel of a village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

this is a perfect place to stop at after tikal. the hotel has beautiful grounds, tremendous effort to educate people about the Mayan culture via the gardens, views of the village lake that are clean and serene. Rooms are clean, hot water available 24 hours and drinks good. Food is a step up from Tikal Inn but nothing to write home about. The staff and Don David make your stay very enjoyable. There is a lot of information and access to the hotel PC to help you plan your next leg. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there, it was relaxing and comfortable after two days of hiking in Tikal.

Room Tip: avoid a room under the restaurant for obvious reasons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 396 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We greatly enjoyed the our recent stay at Casa De Don David in El Remate. Owners and hosts David and Rosita offered a warm and genuine welcome. The property features beautifully kept grounds, garden and lake view platform. A massive Ceiba tree is set in the centre of a circular garden with Mayan cardinal points, native flora and interpretive information. Check out the David's ingenious "Toucan Express" - it will deliver your evening margarita by a miniature cable car from the restaurant to the lakeside viewing platform... Lot's of fun! Close to Tikal, great staff, great value, hidden gem.

We loved it. Dave and Shelley, March 2014

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank DavidandShelley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Don David is an 80 year old that got lost in Guatemala. His hotel is more like a B&B with cabin like rooms on Lake Peten Itza, a small restaurant, large garden and a friendly dog. Don gave us a tour of his botanical garden, explaining the native Mayan uses and giving us insight into the Mayan culture. The garden is well kept and a great place to relax. You can watch the birds at feeder while enjoying breakfast or view the sun set from the deck overlooking the lake while radioing an order for a drink that will be delivered via a trolley on a cable line. The Mayan ruins of Tikal are only 15 minutes away, a must see. The staff was very helpful and friendly, giving everyone a parting gift. Everyone enjoyed the cooking of Rosita, Don's Guatemalan wife, especially her Guava pie. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms all look over the garden so are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

5 nights at De Don David at the end of a 2 month tour was a real treat.

-Lovely spot to enjoy the beautiful sunsets over Lake Itza.
-The garden is perfect and gives the place a very upmarket feel.
-Really good value for money with an evening meal for 2 included in the room rate (or breakfast)
-Platform for early morning yoga , daytime sun worshipping or cocktail sampling overlooking the lake


El Remate itself a better choice than Flores if you're looking for a peaceful few days

-There are two nature trails to explore at the end of which is a swimming area
-Nearer to Tikal by about 30 k
-Lou Simonich's birding , canoeing or cycling tours. Ask David for his phone number to arrange. It will be one of the highlights of your trip. A real character and very knowledgable , having lived around the lake for 11years he seems to know the birds personally .
- This part of the lake great for swimming. No access from De Don David but a pier 5 10 mins walk away. To swim at Flores you will need to take a boat ride to clearer waters.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

First, the price is NOT per room, but per person! We made this mistake, but nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here.

Very nice garden, in witch you'll find an ellevated lookout over the lake and some Maya-symbols.

We had diner once; very tough meat, mashed patatoes and some leave of spinach; pretty lousy all together. Sorry to say.
You can find a couple of alternatives in the area that are cheaper and way better!

Swimming in the lake is wonderfull, but you have to find a dock first (all of them are public), if you leave the hotel turn left to find a couple of dock's after a 10-15min walk.

Nice walking in the biosfere, witch is a 20-30min walk and will cost you Q40 pp. 2 or 3 hout walks are available. Take in considderation that it wil be a steep climb after the first 1,5km! 2 lookouts with about the same view. If you're lucky, you wil spot some monkey and coulorfull birds here.

Good location for Tikal!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel grounds are fantastically transformed into a traditional Mayan Garden, which nestles up against Lake Peten Itza. Friendly, helpful staff and clean rooms make for a pleasant stay. For the breakfast included you can choose from several menus choices (try the pancakes!). and - you can trade the breakfast voucher for a lunch, supper or boxed lunch. The peaceful village of El Remate is halfway between Flores/Santa Elena and Tikal, and you can catch a “colectivo” practically across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms under the restaurant are noisier but cost less (but the restaurant closes at 9 pm).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I loved most everything about Casa Don David- the grounds are beautiful! The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is good but not fantastic. The driver (Fernando) was muy simpatico and careful. We stayed in Room #10 with two full sized beds. The spartan quarters would work for me, but the bed was the worst I've slept in in a long time - a noisy coil right under my shoulder was hard to deal with. The AC wasn't working right, even after Sr. David himself tried to fix it. At 9 PM, you're pretty much on your own. He did graciously offer to move us to a larger room but we declined, so that was our choice. You also get only about 5 minutes of hot water for a shower per person, the you have to wait 10 minutes to reheat for the second shower.

If you want to plan a Tikal adventure and stay overnight, I recommend skipping Flores and El Remate altogether and stay in the park. I have stayed at the Jungle Lodge before, and The Tikal Inn this time was much more comfortable. Time is precious when you are in Tikal and there is a lot of ground to cover. Thank you Don David!

Room Tip: Try the bed first before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockman959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
671 reviews
17 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
369 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $57 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing