We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a Maya Garden paradise in the village of El Remate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

There is a Maya Garden paradise at the end of Lago Petén Itzá in the village of El Remate. La Casa de Don David (http://www.lacasadedondavid.com) is more than a convenient lodging for guided tours to Tikal. It is a respite from tourism itself. Learn about Maya culture and local flora while enjoying a cool drink delivered to you on the sunset viewing deck by the Tucan Express. Room rates include one meal (breakfast or dinner - vegetarian option).Guided tours are small, private arrangements with an excellent, knowledgeable guide. (We had Samuel, who is a birder and takes you off the Tikal causeways into more hidden places of the park.) If more people join your group, the cost is shared and reduces the per person rate. Lodging and food are excellent. Truly a Trip Advisor award winner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderNWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Getting there after 2 days in Tikal we directly loved the place: nice people, beautiful garden, a zip line with cool drinks to the terrace by the lake... There is not much more you need to relax. But it's also worth to mention, that food is really good and the staff is always willing to help with hints, tips and recommendations. The bungalow we stayed in was nice and clean. A laundry service is also offered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a superb hotel to use as a base for visiting Tikal and surrounding area, the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is good as is the accommodation. The garden is beautiful and very spiritual. The Toucan express is fun as you watch the sunset over the lake from the raised area at the bottom of the garden with a drink delivered by the said toucan express.

Dorothy and Dave

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

we were using the Casa De Don David as a quick place to stay to enjoy El Remate.
We were expecting a very simple, almost rustic place to stay but never expected such a vast and beautiful place with such kind owners. We wish we could have stayed an extra day. It is very close to Tikal and the owners will help with the reservations. A real family own Hotel with the little extras that you would take the time to give to your friends. They went out of their way
to help us catch our shuttle that we just missed. We will never forget!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This delightful property is 30kilometers closer to Tikal than any of the Flores hotels. This facilitates an early arrival at Tikal, recommended for better enjoyment of the site. Birders especially must arrive at 6 am when park opens. We saw three species of Toucans just after arrival, along with monkeys and other animals. Later these are hard to find. By the heat of the day you will want to return to Casa Don David for a swim in beautiful, clean Lake Peten Itza, or just laze in hammocks in the extensive garden. Enjoy dinner (one meal included) with sunset view and bonfire display in garden. We stayed two days, had a nice yogurt, granola and fruit breakfast the second day and two good vegetarian dinners. We chose a less expensive room under the restaurant although web site warns it might be noisy. Folks were abed well before we could be troubled by noise. The rooms are ample sized with big bathrooms and hot water. Chairs or hammocks are outside your door for relaxing. Each is shaded and sheltered by vegetation. But what distinguishes this hotel is the service. They will arrange everything. They have drivers to pick you up at bus stations, drivers to take you to park and back, and they'll arrange the best of guides, Samuel, for your trip to Tikal or Yaxha or other nearby sites. Our guide, Samuel, was fabulous. He spoke excellent English, helped to see the exotic birds and led us around the site on shaded paths away from other tourists. An exceptional experience. The English speaking family which developed this hotel works hard to make sure you enjoy Guatemala. Anything you need, they can arrange. An extensive library on the Maya is available for your perusal. Information on other area attractions is thoughtfully catalogued and available. Whether this is your first trip to Tikal, or one of many, stay here and let Kelsey, her family and staff make it the best.

Room Tip: Rooms under the restaurant do have noise until after dinner. But you likely will be out on the over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our trip was originally only to be in Belize, but after researching we decided to stay here for the first 3 nights of our holiday. Fantastic property in El Remate! Easy access to both sites. Food was great as was the accommodation and staff.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrettH106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed 1 night at La Casa de Don David. We were traveling from Belize and our stay had been arranged through Orchid Garden (our hotel in Belize). We were met at the Guatemalan border by our very polite driver Fernando. Fernando spoke limited English, but was very polite. The recptionist spoke English and most all employees of the hotel spoke some English. The grounds at Don David are beautiful and we especially enjoyed sitting on lake viewing platform watching the sunset. There is a zip-line that brings you drinks so you don't even have to go back to the hotel for a Pina Colada!

Our room was clean with two full size beds, a private bathroom, and air conditioning. The restaurant at the hotel was very good and we enjoyed lunch and dinner there. We woke up very early to visit Tikal and coffee was ready for us at 5:15 a.m.

Fernando drove us into Flores City and we were able to spend the afternoon on the island enjoying the shops and restaurants.

I would definitely recommend a stay at La Casa de Don David!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge Hotel
Jungle Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#2 of 4 in El Remate
258 reviews
17 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
14 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
364 reviews
7 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $57 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing