We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 11 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

this hotel provides a good, honest service for its guests.

The staff are awesome and are very helpful. Also, David and his family are delightful, insightful and very kind and helpful.

We were very happy with our stay there and hope to come back again one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waalitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    108
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
169
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed there a couple of times a few years back - I have to say even then it lacked for nothing - the hospitality was brilliant and the service and local knowledge even better - they couldn't have gone further out of their way to may this stay one to remember!
Everything about this place is memorable! The one thing I really enjoyed was teh chorus of early morning birds!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa Don David a few days ago. The staff and family who operates the property were all super friendly and helpful and we had a great stay. Very relaxing and good food in the restaurant. They have a nice gated parking area for our motorcycles and had a nice computer with internet in the lobby. The daughter, Kelsey, will no doubt continue to improve this hotel in the years to come and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Casa de Don David to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolatraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I just spent a quick trip to Tikal/Yaxha. Casa don David provided ALL of our services, transport, lodging, tours etc. The whole family is very approachable and helpful. The village is beautiful, and we wandered around and met some of the local residents. Do not miss Yaxha! The upgrade to the suite is way more than worth it. I just wish we could have spent more time, lovely place/people. I spent an afternoon in Flores before I left, and will recommend El Remate for anyone looking for peace and quiet.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marclil32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The family and staff and La Casa de Don David are warm, generous, friendly and very helpful. We must have asked more than a hundred questions about all the different things in the area and no matter who we asked, they were always polite, friendly and full of great information. They assisted us with transportation to/from Tikal, prepared box lunches for us so we could have one of the best picnics ever in the middle of Tikal and helped us find transportation in the middle of a transportation strike. The rooms are very clean and great (especially for the very reasonable prices) with comfy hammocks on the patio overlooking the beautiful manicured garden. The view from the restaurant is the best! I could have just sat there all day long and watched the sun do it's magic on Lago Peten Itza from morning to night but, of course, there are just so many things to do in the area.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and genuine experience while visiting Tikal and the Lago Peten Itza area, please stay at La Casa de Don David, you will not be disappointed. Thank you so much to David, Rosita, Kelsey and the entire staff for making our stay so fantastic we didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koopnburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had a great stay at Hotel La Casa De Don David, the owners were remarkably friendly regailing us with tales as well as helping us to make the most out of our visit.

The whole setting is beautiful, in amongst the beautiful gardens we spent the afternoon lounging in some hammocks before watching the sun go down over Lake Peten from their new viewing platform.

I won't talk much about the rooms as other reviews seem to cover this but all have a/c and are very clean and comfortable and we managed to get a great nights sleep dispite getting up at 5 to make the most of a day in Tikal, which is a 30 minute drive up the road which meant that we beat those coming in from Flores and spent the first couple of hours in the park with only a handful of other people.

Hotel La Casa De Don David is the perfect place to stay for anyone looking to visit Tikal, we'll definitely visit it again!

Room Tip: If you have a little less cash (as we did) the rooms underneath the restaurant have a slightly reduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent a night at Hotel La Casa De Don David with a group of students from my college. A very welcoming safe atmosphere and great food. Simple rooms but very comfortable and a great view. I would highly recommend staying here to anybody.
- Ryan USA

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
235 reviews
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
866 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
340 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Property: La Casa De Don David
Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing