We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personal treatment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente
Ranked #5 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My stay was very brief, but as soon as we walked in we felt right at home. Mansion has the family atmosphere, and Nancy the owner is a sweetheart. All people who work there made us feel very comfortable and were very corteous, even the dogs, I remember one nice boxer greeted us. The food is very good, I remember having a hearty breakfast with lots of options. We stayed in a cabin, which was very comfortable and had nice wooden floors and privacy. In the morning, we could see Lake Peten from our doorsteps, which was an amazing sunrise. We took the van to Tikal right in front of the hotel. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

My stay was brief, arriving at 9pm and leaving after breakfast the next morning. I slept well, enjoyed breakfast, enjoyed meeting the owner, Nancy, and was wowed by the lovely grounds. I was a little disappointed to leave before taking advantage of the beautiful pool but I had the best excuse ever: heading to Maya sites with Nancy's daughter, archaeologist/naturalist Roxy Ortiz.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for three nights and used it as a jumping off point for Tikal. The good: amazing view of the lake, really close to the public docks to take a dip in the lake, air conditioning in the honeymoon suite, big pool (although it was not a filtered pool from what we could tell and there was lots of sentiment floating around), helpful staff, very clean. However, the hotel could use a little refresh with the decor and furnishings. Especially the bed, which was really uncomfortable and you could feel all the springs. I would skip the restaurant altogether. The food was more expensive and not very good as compared to the hotel across the street.
I would not stay here again, and would most likely try the hotel across the street which had a nicer pool, right on the the lake and restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family spent three nights with the wonderful family of La Mansion this past June. Nancy and her son helped us make our travel plans in advance so crossing the boarder was no problem. The mini van even took us striaght to their front door. We we're greeted by two friendly guard dogs who instinctively knew we we're guests as we watched them bark and growl at any one else who did not belong. We felt perfectly safe and well cared for. Maria made us lovely meals. Our villa was extraordinaly. And waking up to the heavenly view of Lago de Peten Itza we felt we we're in paradise. Roxy gave us a private tour of Tikal which was also arranged through Nancy, the owner. We felt very lucky to be given the tour by someone with her knowledge and passion. We found plenty to do and see in El Remate and the people warm and friendly. Our stay at La Mansion was such a great value and very inexpensive. It was the highlight of our 18 day tour of Guatemala and Belize.

Room Tip: We we're pleased to be able to use US dollars which Nancy also exchanged at a very good rate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobsterlady36382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great stay, owned by a lovely American ex-pat and her Guatemalen husband. Gorgeous terraced gardens tended by owners with lots of orchids and beautiful water views. Room was simple, clean, comfy and lovely. Very easy drive to Tikal, and in fact the family are related to owners of Tikal Inn. A number of nice artisan shops across the road with a good variety of local crafts at good prices. If you have the chance, ask for Roxy -- owner's daughter is an archaeologist who offers fantastic tours of Tikal, very knowledgeable and great company!

Room Tip: There's a honeymoon cottage at the top of the hill that looks terribly romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avid_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

A great little spot in the quiet village of El Remate.
The furniture is a little dated, but the staff are lovely and we were very comfortable. It was great to stay in El Remate rather than the more touristy Flores. It's also that bit closer to Tikal.
We stayed 3 nights here and it was just fine. Breakfast is not included though.
Places close early for dinner though, so be warned in case you show up late in the evening!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has its only mini pool and a nice little deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Guatemala and Belize. My favorite meal of the entire trip was the Guatamalan breakfast cooked by Maria at La Mansion. Eggs, beans, queso fresco, delicious coffee, etc. Wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The views were also extraordinary. And the pool was wonderfully refreshing at the end of a hot day of touring. I wish you could reserve online as that would be easier.

Overall, staff were great. The tour to Tikal was very quick and easy to get to. And we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay there.

La Mansion is definitely a good option compared with Flores if staying this part of Guatemala. It's much simpler, quieter, and more relaxing. No party scene but I was traveling with my kids and we were all very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Remate hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa De Don David
La Casa De Don David
#1 of 12 in El Remate
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palomino Ranch Hotel
Palomino Ranch Hotel
#2 of 7 in El Remate
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ribiera del Lago Peten Itza
Ribiera del Lago Peten Itza
#4 of 4 in El Remate
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Gardenias
Hotel Las Gardenias
#3 of 12 in El Remate
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Zacpeten Jungle Lodge
Maya Zacpeten Jungle Lodge
#4 of 7 in El Remate
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente

Address: Main Road, El Remate, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Del Pajaro Serpiente Hotel El Remate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing