We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little retreat!”
Review of Posada del Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Cerro
Ranked #2 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing little retreat!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at Posada del Cerro on our honeymoon 2 weeks ago and we are so pleased we found this place!

It's probably nice that it isnt in the Lonely Planet, keeping it an amazing hidden secret!

Georg, Raimunda and their sweet children are so welcoming. They gave us a choice of rooms and a cold refreshing drink when we arrived.

We stayed in the Crocodile bedroom, an amazing open fronted 1st floor cabana with huge balcony and huge bed.

The setting is stunning and the Lake is literally opposite the entrance with a little path leading to the shore.

The best sunsets in the world whilst swimming in the lake.

Their dinner was amazing, far nicer than the French restaurant down the road!

They even gave us a lift to the bus stop to return to Flores when we checked out.

I would highly recommend staying here, it was the nicest accommodation on our entire honeymoon and excellent memories!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jafEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
105
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This accomodation was stunning. We had the cabin that is open at one end giving the illusion of sleeping in the fresh air. Located on the edge of the lake Peten Itza it was temping to jump om in to the clear waters - if only we'd had more time! The room was fun and comfortable with the bathroom separate from the room and down stairs. We really felt amongst nature and felt glad to have come here rather than stayed in Flores.
It was a good start point to get to the wonderful ruins of Tikkal.It takes about 15 minutes to walk into el Remate to catch a bus or taxi.
The evening was spent at dinner with the family. As we were the only ones there on that particular night we all sat together which was friendly.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3nlighted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Perfect posada in a natural and quiet environment at the shores of Lake Peten, build up and run by Georg (from Germany) and Raimunda (from Brazil). They live at the site with their children so dinner is together with the family. We used this posada as a base to visit Tikal national park. Great Italian restaurant Las Orquideas down the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I really liked this hotel and was glad I made the choice of staying far from Flores in this wonderful spot near El Remate. I had a fantastic open-air room that I highly recommend. It had a view of the lake and we quite comfortable. The restaurant was very good and had several great vegetarian options for me.

The owners are a German/Brazilian couple who live onsite with their family. I rated the service as "average" only because they can be a little overwhelmed with running the place with a pretty skeleton staff. That said though, they were very friendly and accommodating and I got some wonderful meals, easy transportation arrangements to Tikal with a great guide and lots of questions answered about local activities. If I hadn't had a non-refundable plane ticket back to Guatemala City I would have extended my time at Posada del Cerro.

One last note on the location, I absolutely loved staying in El Remate. I'm so glad I stayed in El Remate and not Flores. Not only is it much closer to Tikal, it was so much more relaxing and quiet than any hotel in Flores. Posada del Cerro is about a half a kilometer walk to the village. If you don't want to eat at the hotel there a number of good restaurants along the road to the village. In El Remate itself there are a couple of good eating options as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzuMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We didn't enjoy our stay here, the place is pretty and very well located for Tikal tour but has no character and we didn't feel welcome at all. The posada is also a bit isolated from El Remate which makes a bit hard to get away for meals.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

While often looked upon as a town to pass by between Flores and Tikal, we were more than happy to get lost in El Remate's La Posada del Cerro. With spacious rooms, beautiful surroundings right on the water, and a family that goes out of your way to make you feel at home, we felt that this was the perfect place to get comfortable before and after our "hard work" at Tikal!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jguatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Remate, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We came here for four days, 4 Qubecers on a no where trip. We stayed 6 days in this quiet lovely paradise, while visiting Tikal and Yaxha. We lived in excellent conditions in very clean rooms. We had meals like if we were home; excellent! We swam in the Peten lake a pure jowel down the property( no boat at all). We warmly recomand this place. The owners are clear and honest people. -Pedro-Nad-Tan-DD

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedronad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
243 reviews
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
248 reviews
9.0 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Cerro

Property: Posada del Cerro
Address: Calle a Jobompiche | Barrio Miramar, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms, stones and local woods form the houses of the Posada del Cerro which you find directly at the entrance to the protected area "Biotopo Cerro Cahui".The design of the buildings merges harmonically into the subtropical ambience of the lake Petén Itzá which is spreading out in front of the Posada del Cerro. Good and personal service as well as excellent food round up the attraction of this small Hotel. The Hotel has enough space to accommodate up to 34 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing