We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Artistic Cabins, Lake Views, Great Food, and Positive Vibrations”
Review of Posada del Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Cerro
Ranked #2 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Posada del Cerro upon the shores of Lake Peten Itza in pristine jungle and had a most memorable time. Owners George, Raimunda, and their 3 amazing kids all added so much to the experience.
The meals were cooked with mainly local ingredients, lots of love, and just felt so wholesome. I love the pride with which they run all components of the hotel. We were greeted with warm smiles and fresh juice after arriving from Belize, and we're settled into our cozy rooms in no time. When we needed to get around and connect with the local community they facilitated every last need. George even drove me to the local Cooperative called 'Nutru Naturales', where I was able to learn about and buy local super food called Mayan Nut or Ramon.
They truly care about the environment and I recommend Hotel Posada del Cerro for anyone who still looks for integral service. Thank you so much and tell the little ones that I'm bringing my frisbee back the next time I come through ;)

-Chad-

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chizad93021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

We discovered this gem after 2 nights at Casa Don David. It was so great ,that we actually forfeited one night penalty at Don David, just so we could stay here for an extra night. We checked out a lot of the little bungalow/gueshouses along the water that were within walking distance of El Remate and this was the best. Liked it better than Gringo Paradido also. We actually saw it on trip adviser before booking Don David, but we could tell mattresses were thin by photos so decided to stay at Don David instead, but the mattresses at Don David certainly aren't any more comfortable since they are old and hard. We have some back & shoulder injuries and need a softer bed, and found the beds at Cerro to be more comfortable, even though they are basically just thick foam. The lake is amazing with turquoise waters, which you don't realize if you never leave the town area of El Remate. It is a 15 minute walk to town, but there's no reason to go to town. there are plenty of little restaurants along the water, all serving better food then you'll find in town ,and shuttles to Tikal pick up from here just as often. They do have bikes to rent if you need them to get around, not that they are very good bikes, but just as good as anyone else is renting. Only down side is that if you get a lake view room, be careful on weekends, because a little bar next door had their music going at full volume, which made it impossible to sleep, but they were very nice and turned it off when we asked them too, and I think it was only because it was close to Semana Santa celebrations, otherwise I doubt they usually play it that loud if at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjo_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

nice people = nice place to stay.

We enjoyed our stay. We had the water view open thatched roof cabana for two nights. (crocodile room) It was a bit of a slow time when we were there so we pretty well had the place to ourselves. The owners Georg and Raymunda and their lovely children were there to keep us company. We ate what they ate and what they ate was so good. It almost felt like a home stay although more private. We mostly just hung out between our cabana, the lake and the restaurant although it is only about a 15-20 minute walk to town. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else. I suspect it does get busy here so I would book the open cabana in advance, its really nice. Check out our pictures.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowmobileKimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My comments are very much the same as many of the other reviews. We stayed at this lovely retreat for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to Guatemala. We stayed in the Crocodile room which is the one with the open end that overlooks the view of the lake. The bed has mosquito netting around it, but we didn't notice that there were many bugs at all (even with a wall open to nature!) The bedding was perfect for us, though I can see how some would think it's too firm (but that's how I like it.)

The hosts were helpful, but not overly intrusive as can sometimes be the case in small places like this. They arranged for transportation for us to Tikal and back to the airport when it was time to leave. We definitely appreciated that they let us check-in early after we spent a long night on the overnight bus from Guatemala to Flores!

Though the bathroom is "private", it is not attached to the room. It was right outside the room, however. Otherwise, it was comfortable and the water was hot.

The Posada is located *right* next to the Biotopo Cerro Cahui which was a nice place for a 3+ hour moderate hike that had beautiful views of El Remate and Lake Peten. The lake is beautiful for swimming, though when we went, it was a tad too cold for my comfort. It is a 5-10 minute walk along a dirt road into El Remate proper, but there are restaurants along the way. If you're lucky, you'll run into Lou, the bread seller. If you do, pick up a loaf of the banana bread--you'll appreciate it when you're hiking in Tikal!

As a note of comparison...we did have dinner one night at another highly rated Casa in Remate. The feel there was definitely different than that of Posada---not nearly as warm nor relaxing. We do not regret choosing Posada as our place to stay in El Remate!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srtacoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I'm always looking for hotel owners who are doing something special. In El Remate on a gorgeous lake in the Peten region of northern Guatemala that hotel is Posada del Cerro.

Owned by a Guatemalan/German couple, this boutique retreat is elegant economy with just a handful of bungalows all lovingly crafted from half a dozen different local woods and other materials. The layout and decor in each room is different and they sleep from 2-7 people. The place has a lovingly handmade feel that reminds me of Verana near Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (but at one-tenth the price).

There are no frills--just a clean aesthetic, a homey feel and a wonderfully private and quiet hillside perch with views over an enormous aquamarine lake (great for swimming) which looks particularly beautiful from the hammock on your private patio.

Meals are home cooked and delicious and the Gallo beer is cold. You may never want to leave. And all this just a stone's throw from the famous Tikal Mayan ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here, as an alternative to staying in Flores, for two nights while we explored Tikal. George was extremely helpful in arranging for transportation to Tikal and another site, Yaxhal, as well as arranging for us to travel from the hotel directly to Belize City when we were ready to leave. He speaks several languages, including English, Spanish and Portuguese.

He and his wife, Raimunda, run a nice little hotel. The rooms are spacious with lovely woodwork and an uncluttered European aesthetic. They are very clean. One of the rooms has an incredible open view to the lake below - really a stunning view. The little restaurant on premises has surprisingly good food, simply prepared, but very fresh.

Because the Posada del Cerro is at the end of the road (before entering a regional park), it is very quiet and secluded. The hotel is not on the lake, but it is a short walk down the hill to the beach, and you get the place pretty much to yourself. The lake is safe to swim in and very refreshing.

This hotel is perfect if you're looking for a quiet place to relax while checking out the local archeological sites. If you're looking for an active night-life of bars and clubs, this is not the place you want to be. If you're looking for tranquility, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReetReet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at Posada del Cerro on our honeymoon 2 weeks ago and we are so pleased we found this place!

It's probably nice that it isnt in the Lonely Planet, keeping it an amazing hidden secret!

Georg, Raimunda and their sweet children are so welcoming. They gave us a choice of rooms and a cold refreshing drink when we arrived.

We stayed in the Crocodile bedroom, an amazing open fronted 1st floor cabana with huge balcony and huge bed.

The setting is stunning and the Lake is literally opposite the entrance with a little path leading to the shore.

The best sunsets in the world whilst swimming in the lake.

Their dinner was amazing, far nicer than the French restaurant down the road!

They even gave us a lift to the bus stop to return to Flores when we checked out.

I would highly recommend staying here, it was the nicest accommodation on our entire honeymoon and excellent memories!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jafEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
248 reviews
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
665 reviews
9.0 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
885 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Cerro

Address: Calle a Jobompiche | Barrio Miramar, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $43 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms, stones and local woods form the houses of the Posada del Cerro which you find directly at the entrance to the protected area "Biotopo Cerro Cahui".The design of the buildings merges harmonically into the subtropical ambience of the lake Petén Itzá which is spreading out in front of the Posada del Cerro. Good and personal service as well as excellent food round up the attraction of this small Hotel. The Hotel has enough space to accommodate up to 34 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing