We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed -”
Review of Zea - CLOSED

Zea
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Bridgeport
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed -”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the advice of the hotel front staff. Took the st Charles street car (which has a stop right near the restsurant). They do have a children's menu which is reasonable . But the food was just average. The ambiance and service was excellent though! And the prices were less than what you would spend in the French quarter area ... But all considering I wouldn't return here for another meal. The food took a while to come out and wasn't worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpsunshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    94
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent New Orleans restaurant with fair prices.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised at the quality of the food. The guacamole appetizer was excellent and the redfish with shrimp étouffée was delicious. Service was very good and the restaurant was nicely decorated. I was pleasantly surprised!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sperberlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service, not very good food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Tourists should stay away from Zea. This is the kind of meal you can get anywhere in the US. I live near this place, & I know it's a chain restaurant, but I was looking for a quick inexpensive change of pace for dinner. I'm a big fan of rotisserie chicken, so that's what I ordered. The chicken was dry & overdone- the white meat was almost indelible. It had probably been cooked well in advance of my arrival & left under a warmer too long. There are better rotisserie chickens in grocery stores. My sides were dirty rice (also dry; should've known not to order a NOLA dish here) & Thai seasoned green beans (they were good). If you want a really good roasted chicken take a 10 minute cab ride to Irene's Cuisine in the French Quarter & get hers for only 2-3 dollars more. All that said, Zea is a nice facility with friendly, attentive servers. They're just serving below average chain restaurant food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eBob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Zea, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy our rotisserie chicken. This is especially disappointing because it is one of our signature dishes.
While we do have multiple locations, we are proud to be based in New Orleans, with our first location ever starting in Harahan, just ten minutes from our St. Charles location. I would love to hear more of your thoughts on our dishes to make sure we can continue our goal of always improving. Please email me at jamiem@tastebudsmgmt.com and we can discuss your visit in more detail.

Thank you,
Jamie
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had their Asian grilled chicken salad, wish I had ordered 2. Fabulous atmosphere with awesome food. Service was quick, nice and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food for the soul”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good food, fair prices, good service.

Had the thai ribs and some dessert. Zea's grits are AMAZING!

Good for family and friends. It can get pretty crowded so a reservation in advance would be good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana Lucía T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zea also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing