We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome respite”
Review of The Avenue Pub

The Avenue Pub
Ranked #268 of 1,957 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Avenue Pub is a Craft beer and whiskey bar with counter service for our upscale pub fare. 21 and over only, including exterior seating
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A welcome respite”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Fantastic selection of beer on tap and bottle and knowledgeable staff. Stopped off after a long walk in a very sweaty state. Let them select my beers and I was disappointed. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    64
    26
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Craft Depot”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

New Orleans certainly sets itself off as a cocktail city, but that leaves craft beer enthusiasts at a loss. The Avenue, however, does not disappoint. With an almost endless beer list, and a no bull attitude, it is easy to let time slip by in this beer haven.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Last bar we visited on our trip. A guy at NOLA Brewing had told us they still had a NOLA/New Belgium collab on draft so we set off the next day to try it.

They serve food, but you HAVE to order it from the kitchen staff. The bartender WILL NOT take your order regardless of how close to the register you are. But they make their fries fresh. Grilled Cheese is pretty good too.

The bar - we were told they did 4oz samples of ANYTHING on the list. I managed to pick out something they only offered in 6oz glasses...told the bartender to bring it on! Pay attention to the menu, some drafts are only available UPSTAIRS!

We sat near the end of the bar towards the bathrooms where it wasn't nearly as busy. Service is slow that far back. You've been warned.

Also, there's a "step up" into the men's room and I can't remember if its posted.

Helpful?
Thank deejamahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite pub”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This has become a must on every visit. Great selection of craft beers (downstairs), and whiskey (upstairs). Food is tasty, which I admit to sharing a plate Dump Truck Fries which helps to slow down alcohol absorption.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maytallicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice bar, with great beer choices”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is not your cheap dive bar, this is a bar for beer lovers like myself. For New Orleans this a 5 star bar, the place has that old bar feel and has about 100 beers on tap and a few more 100 in bottles, the bartenders are nice, and the bar is set-up like most bars are. The food was very good for bar food and we had a really good experience here. We would most definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timfullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Avenue Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Avenue Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing