We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and BAFFLING”
Review of The Standard

The Standard
Order Online
Ranked #845 of 2,295 Restaurants in New Orleans
Neighborhood: East Riverside
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Riverside
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK, this review almost makes me laugh looking back on it because we are still bewildered and offended by our experience. A group of 6 girls were walking by at 3 PM on a Saturday when we saw a "cute bar" with AN OPEN DOOR and signage with arrows pointing inside for cocktails and bar. "Yay" we thought - wrong. When we walked in, there was only 1 server/employee in the building. She asked if we wanted drinks or food (food was used with a low tone showing she was obviously hoping we would only answer "drinks" - which we noticed and did). Anyway, so we all sit down to be courteous of the "drinks only" attitude... Sat around for about 5 mins after she handed us the menu so we could make our selections... When she came back, we all placed our drink order (that she asked us for....) and when it got to me, I also asked her if my PREGNANT sister could have 1 plate of food because she's PREGNANT, you know. To which the lady replied with GREAT DISDAIN that she can't place an order but she can find "WHATEVER IS IN THE KITCHEN because WE'RE CLOSED, YOU KNOW???" No girl, we didn't know!!! You took our order and the door was wide open smh!!!! It was insanely rude I can't even begin to wrap our minds around it. Based on all of the other reviews about poor single-server-service and overpriced bad food.... We dodged a bullet. :)

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 476carlyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Popped into the Standard after looking for a good brunch spot on Magazine. We were warmly greeted and the menu looked tasty. Since it was the afternoon, we also decided to enjoy a nice libation with brunch. The service was very cheery and polite, the recommendations were good, the food was very good. I was very surprised by the price of the drinks however ($12 each, not listed on menu) which were almost even with our food options. New Orleans has a high standard for good food and service, and the Standard delivered. With all the great spots in town, the high drink prices will probably deter us from returning, even with good food and service.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank RaqVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

We went for breakfast and it was very good. We had fried chicken Benedict and the special. Everyone liked their breakfast. I recommend it if you are in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Had a quick dinner with family after just arriving in New Orleans. What a great find. The decor is quirky and the food was fantastic! Fried chicken is fantastic. This is coming from someone that only eats fried chicken when I visit New Orleans. Be ready for above normal peppery mashed potatoes but they were very tasty. There are many choices on this 2 block area, but we would go back again!!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Fan_of_Paris64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Allie the owner, chef and mixologist is a warm friendly lady that not only designs drinks, but also is very creative in the kitchen and produces many a wonderful meal. If time allows you should stop in.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard also viewed

 
 

Been to The Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing