We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room average, everything else excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antebellum Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antebellum Guest House
Ranked #48 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room average, everything else excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Bordello room itself is only average, although it has lots of atmosphere and is very clean. Not a place to spend a lot of time. It is everything else about the place that is why you should stay there. The location is very good, just outside the French Quarter in a quiet neighbourhood, The house has been beautifully restored, with 14 foot ceilings and fantastic chandeliers in the parlour and dining room. But it is the host, Keith, who puts it over the top. He is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and genuinely interested in getting to know his guests without being at all intrusive. His breakfasts are wonderful, and he takes great pride in presenting local dishes in style. Even with its shortcomings, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend The Antebellum House.

Room Tip: The Bordello Room is just average, but has lots of atmosphere and is very clean. Access is from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkster110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I were very impressed with our room, the home itself, and especially the breakfast. Keith, our host was amazing, the courtyard is to die for and even has a hot tub. I highly recommend that your next stay in New Orleans be here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brook S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hosts, with breakfasts that you will not believe and a gorgeous house. You will learn a ton about N.O. history from chatting with Keith, and he's also right there with restaurant recommendations, bikes to borrow, ideas for day trips, etc. Art is equally terrific, and there is no question that we will be staying here again and every time we're in New Orleans. In the spirit of helping others make an informed decision, I'll acknowledge that wifi was unavailable in our room (but worked fine in the common areas), and it is a 30-minute walk through the Quarter if you are at a conference on Canal or something. But anyone deterred by that doesn't deserve to stay at the Antebellum. :-) Wish I could give it more stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I decided to do something special for our 25th anniversary. We are so glad we chose Antebellum Guest House. Keith is an excellent host and makes you feel like family. His breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. My husband is a chef and he loved everything. Keith's attention to detail in his breakfasts and the beautiful decor of the house is perfection.

He is a great conversationalist as well. We often spent an hour or two at the breakfast table because he has so many interesting stories to tell about New Orleans and his own life.I really can't add anything new to what has been said in previous posts, but I just couldn't go without leaving a glowing review. We are not creatures of habit when it comes to our travels, but I am already hoping to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizardfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchenry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Been meaning to write this since we stayed for three nights in late July, so here goes. Never stayed at a B&B, so now we're totally spoiled. As has been said, the breakfasts are beyond belief. Keith does it up right every morning. Art joined us one morning, and we laughed so hard at the stories about his family. I think there was a good one about Aunt Barbara(??) The location is perfect. If you get tired of walking (too many Abitas?) taxis are readily available. Keith and Art can give you all the inside info. While we were there a second-line funeral parade to honor Uncle Lionel Batiste (bass drummer for the Treme Brass Band) was held. We wanted to go, and Keith was kind enough to accompany us. He knows so much about all things New Orleans. Can't wait to go back. Thanks for the hospitality you two!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnelson217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Keith and Art are wonderful hosts at Antebellum. Keith not only cooked wonderfully tasting local breakfasts each morning, he told about the history behind each dish. He also had plenty of knowledge about the history of the city and was happy to share it. The house itself is beautifully renovated and located close to the Marigny district. It is also in walking distance from Bourbon Street, but also far enough so the frat party there isn't felt :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Couldn't agree more with all of the wonderful things other reviewers had to say about the guest house and Keith and Art! The house was beautiful and our room (Roccoco) was well appointed and comfortable. If we have a chance to visit New Orleans again, we definitely hope to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2u21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#33 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#23 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antebellum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antebellum Guest House

Property: Antebellum Guest House
Address: 1333 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old New Orleans experience, opulent & elegant. A comfortable mix of history and Southern hospitality. Antebellum Guest House is a classic Greek Revival, dating back to the late 1830's. Located just outside the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue, known for it gorgeous architecture and live-oak trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antebellum Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing