We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just a wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antebellum Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antebellum Guest House
Save
You added Antebellum Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #44 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hosts, with breakfasts that you will not believe and a gorgeous house. You will learn a ton about N.O. history from chatting with Keith, and he's also right there with restaurant recommendations, bikes to borrow, ideas for day trips, etc. Art is equally terrific, and there is no question that we will be staying here again and every time we're in New Orleans. In the spirit of helping others make an informed decision, I'll acknowledge that wifi was unavailable in our room (but worked fine in the common areas), and it is a 30-minute walk through the Quarter if you are at a conference on Canal or something. But anyone deterred by that doesn't deserve to stay at the Antebellum. :-) Wish I could give it more stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I decided to do something special for our 25th anniversary. We are so glad we chose Antebellum Guest House. Keith is an excellent host and makes you feel like family. His breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. My husband is a chef and he loved everything. Keith's attention to detail in his breakfasts and the beautiful decor of the house is perfection.

He is a great conversationalist as well. We often spent an hour or two at the breakfast table because he has so many interesting stories to tell about New Orleans and his own life.I really can't add anything new to what has been said in previous posts, but I just couldn't go without leaving a glowing review. We are not creatures of habit when it comes to our travels, but I am already hoping to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizardfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchenry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Been meaning to write this since we stayed for three nights in late July, so here goes. Never stayed at a B&B, so now we're totally spoiled. As has been said, the breakfasts are beyond belief. Keith does it up right every morning. Art joined us one morning, and we laughed so hard at the stories about his family. I think there was a good one about Aunt Barbara(??) The location is perfect. If you get tired of walking (too many Abitas?) taxis are readily available. Keith and Art can give you all the inside info. While we were there a second-line funeral parade to honor Uncle Lionel Batiste (bass drummer for the Treme Brass Band) was held. We wanted to go, and Keith was kind enough to accompany us. He knows so much about all things New Orleans. Can't wait to go back. Thanks for the hospitality you two!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnelson217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Keith and Art are wonderful hosts at Antebellum. Keith not only cooked wonderfully tasting local breakfasts each morning, he told about the history behind each dish. He also had plenty of knowledge about the history of the city and was happy to share it. The house itself is beautifully renovated and located close to the Marigny district. It is also in walking distance from Bourbon Street, but also far enough so the frat party there isn't felt :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Couldn't agree more with all of the wonderful things other reviewers had to say about the guest house and Keith and Art! The house was beautiful and our room (Roccoco) was well appointed and comfortable. If we have a chance to visit New Orleans again, we definitely hope to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2u21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just spent 2 wonderful nights in the Bordello Room and our entire experience here absolutely met the high expectations we had after reading all of the wonderful reviews. I usually like to write detailed reviews, but I don’t know how much more I can add that hasn’t already been shared by other guests. It was our first stay at Antebellum, but far from our first visit to NOLA. We have never stayed at the same place twice when we visit and this time I was looking for a little more authentic charm than the usual cookie cutter hotel. Keith will be glad to hear that we will break tradition in the future, and we’ll definitely be back! If you like B&B charm, don’t hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Bordello's antique bed would not be suitable for guests over 5'10", but it was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Villette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

A bit away from the Bourbon party, Antebellum House is a relaxing retreat and a unique place to stay. The owners, Keith and Art have put so much of themselves into making this place special and do a great job and helping guests feel welcome.

Keith's breakfasts are works of art and worth every calorie. Don't miss out on any of these - you'll regret it! The rooms are small but comfortable. I'm not much for the style of decor here (classic Antebellum period), but the place is a piece of history and because of that, I enjoyed that the innkeepers have been true to its preservation. There are so many antiques here it's hard to get a look at them all!

The courtyard here is a treasure. There is a lovely hot tub with mosquito netting around it and trees draped with Spanish moss. Very secluded and romantic. If you're the type of traveler who prefers to keep to yourself you probably won't appreciate this place. However, if you like an intimate setting and getting to know innkeepers and other guests, you will love this place and will want to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theworldawaits1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#56 of 140 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Hotel Storyville
#25 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antebellum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antebellum Guest House

Property: Antebellum Guest House
Address: 1333 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1853
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old New Orleans experience, opulent & elegant. A comfortable mix of history and Southern hospitality. Antebellum Guest House is a classic Greek Revival, dating back to the late 1830's. Located just outside the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue, known for it gorgeous architecture and live-oak trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antebellum Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing