We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and safe location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #14 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We loved staying here. Trolley stop right outside. The staff was great. Comfy beds. Perfect get away after a day of touring.Swimming pool more like a lap lane.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipflopPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were hot and tired after a long trip by car. Moving our son into his new apartment required a U-Haul and two SUVs. It was over 100 degrees that day and the refreshingly clean king room with pullout sofa seemed like heaven that night when we checked in. Staff was exceptionally pleasant and professional. The hotel was nearly booked full and I had to take a smoking floor room, but other than a very stinky hallway, our room smelled the same as a non-smoking room. I did ask the manager to have the vents cleaned of all the dust accumulated, and that was done so well, they actually shone before I came back from lunch. Yes, they cleaned the air return vent for me! The central air was very efficient, as well as the best bed and showerhead I have ever experienced. The breakfast buffet was not the best, but it was easy to snack there, and go somewhere else in NO for a brunch. We will definitely try to visit with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Located in the Garden District next to Superior Grill. Free Parking and continental breakfast included in price. Well-lit parking lot, doors locked at night - felt very safe here. Street Car stops at hotel. Easy to get downtown or to French Quarter on Street Car for just $1.25. Beats the cost of parking! Clean, nice size room - included mini fridge and microwave. Slightly overpriced for other comparable Hampton's, but I guess worth the extra $ for the location. Would stay here again if I could get the same discounted rate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjovic2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We have been staying here for the past four years when they have availability as our daughter is a Tulane student. It's right on the streetcar line, you can park your car in a safe lot out back and is within walking distance to Superior Grill.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

this was my second trip to New Orleans and I was delighted to find the hotel is on the route of one of the main Mardi Gras routes, resulting in the trees dripping leftover colorful beaded necklaces. Kind of a unique New Orleans version of Spanish Moss. A cabbie told me that prior to Hurricane Catrina, men with long poles removed them after the parades. I'm glad they were still there. The hotel is also on one of the most picturesque streets, with many beautiful southern and french style mansions. It is also close to Audobon Park, Millionaire's Row, and the streetcar line that inspired Tennessee Williams' "A Streetcar Named Desire". There is an excellent Mexican restaurant right next door, and the hotel itself looks like a restored mansion, although it was actually built about 10 years ago. There is a free breakfast that includes cereal, coffee, juice, fruit, eggs, ham, biscuits, etc. Also an afternoon cheese, crackers, and fruit snack. Security seems good, and there is parking available behind the building. Staff is courteous, although be aware that you'll have to lug your suitcases up the steps, into the lobby yourself... there is no doorman. The room was roomy and comfortable, with a queen sized bed, refrigerator, microwave, sofa, etc. Also, free internet access.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

If you've ever stayed in a Hampton Inn, you know the drill, but I think this one is a bit below average. Desk clerk did the minimum, couldn't wait to get back to the book he was studying. The "cheese and tea" evening reception should be avoided if you enjoy either cheese or tea. Cheese choices are small cubes of either orange or white, tea choices are a few bags of Bigelow brand. Get to the breakfast early. Though it's advertised til 10, the food is pretty much gone by 8:30 or 9:00 and not replenished. I only got something one out of my three mornings. No fitness facilities, not even a treadmill. Located in the residential part of St. Charles Ave., plan on either taking a car or walking at least 30 minutes to any restaurants or shops (though the great Delachaise bar is just down the street). The street car line does run right in front, but it's not convenient to many non-touristy places.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likestodineKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I had a 2 night, 3 day anniversary trip to New Orleans in early February of 2009. We flew in and out of N.O. and took the Airport Shuttle to and from the Hampton.

We arrived earlier than check-in time, but the room was ready. Since we had not been to the city in several years, we asked at the front desk about transportation, places to eat, sites to see, etc. The response was great. We could tell that the staff was very familiar with the city and all our questions were answered. We purchased a 3 day pass and rode the street car up and down St. Charles Avenue to see and do all kinds of things.

The location of this Hampton is quiet and we really felt safe in and arount the hotel.

To sum up, we had a great time and look forward to staying at the Hampton Garden District again.

Clyde & Kathy

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CODHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,872 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $152 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing