We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a good location”
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I travel to New Orleans on business once a month or so. I like the personal feel of this hotel. The staff is very friendly and the lobby is a nice size...you don't feel overwhelmed. The lobby has a computer for surfing the web or you can do WiFi in your room which I connected to with no problems. The breakfast is decent and the afternoon cheese and crackers make a great pre dinner snack. My room is always clean. Great bed and pillows, Quiet, Fridge, microwave. My only complaint is the secure card swipe slot in the elevator is touchy.

I won't comment on the price as I am not paying....but my rate was $131 per night. For food try the mexican place next door, Fat Harry's or Cannon's....all are good. Try the Bull Dog if you want an adventure or more local flavor.
KS

  • Liked — Quaint and Friendly
  • Disliked — elevator room card slot is touchy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    286
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
365
266
52
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Garden District for a week with my 86 year old mother and 3 daughters while we were visiting my sister. The rooms were a nice size, with a refrigerator and microwave. The beds are very comfortable. The cheese, fruit and tea reception in the late afternoon is a nice way to relax after a day of siteseeing, and if you'd like a drink to go with your cheese the Superior Grill 2 doors away makes a mean margarita to go. Parking is free, and the hotel is conveniently located. You can also jump on the streetcar (which stops across the street from the hotel) to get to the French Quarter or to Riverbend, where there are some great restaurants. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Free breakfast, afternoon snack, comfortable bed, relaxing public areas, pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for the BCS Championship Game weekend and enjoyed it! Staff was friendly, and the price was not bad for a busy weekend. Bed was comfortable and room was decent size. Bathroom was clean and always had plenty of hot water. However, the pipes are a bit noisy so if you are a light sleeper ask for an end room. Was a great hotel for a busy weekend!

  • Liked — Large room & Price for a Special Event Weekend
  • Disliked — Noisy pipes
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank takia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Francisville
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2007

My daughter lives in New Orleans and I travel there frequently. This hotel is clean and in a quiet area. It is however, overpriced. You can find great hotels in the quarter for under $100 bucks. We paid $180.00 a night. The room had a very stale smell to it and only a shower no tub.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeggySt_Francisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

A very nice hotel. Good amenities (ice tea and snacks in the afternoon, free breakfast in the morning, coffemaker, microwave, fridge in room). If you are a jogger, this is an excellent location - run down St. Charles for a few miles in the former trolley tracks or drive a few blocks to Audubon Park and run the loop there. Close to nice restaurants and a large Whole Foods on Magazine Street. A great value too. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to activities and restaurants
  • Disliked — It was all good - NA
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We've just returned from a delightful visit to New Orleans for my son's wedding. Staying at the Hampton Inn on St. Charles Avenue helped make it a pleasure from start to finish. The hotel itself is very attractive and clean with a charming outdoor pool and seating area. The staff were kind, helpful and very friendly. Our group, which included a child, enjoyed the many selections offered at breakfast and the afternoon tea. The parking area is free, safe, and just a few steps from the entrance. It was so convenient to many of this wonderful city's attractions, we very much hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable, attractive and safe
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AliciaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

I stayed there for a week. The room was large and clean; it had a refrigerator; lots of TV channels, and free wireless connection. The breakfast was pretty good, and the cheese and crackers with tea in the afternoon was nice. My 4 year old grandaughter loved the pool, which was kept very clean. One of the best features is a free parking lot right behind the main back entrance to the hotel. It is safe and easy to use. The staff is really friendly. It is also convenient to getting to almost all of New Orleans by car...every thing is about 15 minutes away. I would stay there again and again. I was in NOLA for pleasure visiting my daughter and her family, but I travel in my work as a lawyer and spend many nights each year in hotels around the world. And this is one terrific hotel in a great, great city.

  • Liked — A completely great experience.
  • Disliked — Could change the breakfast from time to time.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,212 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing