We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & well-situated, parking included!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cozy & well-situated, parking included!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

On a prior visit to New Orleans I stayed at the Homewood Suites downtown, but I chose not to stay there this time due to ongoing renovations. Staying a few miles outside of downtown in the Garden District proved to be a very rewarding stay. Two things I really liked, aside from the wonderful ambiance of the area, was the ample free parking and the street car line right outside the hotel. I was able to hop on the St Charles line and get downtown fairly quickly which worked fine for me. I had a room on the top floor with a view towards downtown and I was content with the amenities. The room was clean and spacious enough. I had no noise issues and slept comfortably each night. There is a small outdoor pool area which is an attractive place to hang out except perhaps on particularly hot muggy days. The lobby and breakfast area was very comfortable and inviting. Breakfasts were good. I've had worse at other Hampton properties. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is no concierge, per se, but they have computers available if you want to research tours, etc. on your own. This hotel is a nice affordable option outside the noise of downtown. It's nice to be able to visit French Quarter, for example, after a crazy night and return to the relative quiet of the Garden District after a short street car ride. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return again. I would also recommend a guided tour of the Garden District. See the house the IRS snatched from Nicolas Cage or Sandra Bullock or John Goodman's house and get an interesting historical perspective on the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    286
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
365
266
52
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

I was in New Orleans working on an adoption. The baby was born at Turro hospital. This hotel was a great location 1 block from the hospital and right on St Charles where the trolley ran. convenient location. Nice hotel, friendly staff great room with a super comfortable bed.. Nice continental breakfast in the morning cheese and crackers in the evening. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable hotel with a reasonable rate.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hampton Inn on a business trip. While it is in the Garden District it was congested and surroundings were somewhat run down. The workout facility was in a nearby hospital and not that great. The staff was nice and friendly but I have definitely stayed in nicer Hampton Inns before. The room was clean but the bed was not comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

In middle of Garden District. Easy Street Car access and good parking in back - complimentary - Well Done!!! Clean pleasant rooms. As usual, Breakfast is the Hampden standard but welcome compared with pricey competition alternatives. Expect to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We picked this spot and hotel because of it's location in the garden district and loved it. It's walkable To magazine street and the trolley line and this is the side of New Orleans that I love. It's a true Hampton property with all the great amenities that the Hampton offers including free coffee, breakfast, a great pool, free parking. The front desk folks were very helpful and friendly and we appreciated the southern hospitality. New Orleans is a fun place to be, but staying downtown is exhausting so we loved this option for us. Rooms were very clean and beds were Hampton comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were looking for a place uptown and found the Hampton to be a good place to stay. Good parking, nice enough facility, quiet, breakfast included, tiny outdoor pool. We will be happy to return here if we need a hotel in the area again. In the same block is Superior Grill, best Mexican restaurant in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gooseview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

After reading other reviews, I decided to book here. I was glad we did. The room was great, spacious for the entire family. The reception in the evenings was very light so only count on cheese and a few grapes. Breakfasts were awesome....the breakfast ladies were very nice to talk to.

The reception desk was lacking in providing things to do...they were not very knowledgeable about the city.

It was nice that this hotel was on the trolly line. Made it easy to get to Bourbon Street, French Quarters and other cites in the city.

I also liked the free parking.

Pool is very small.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,212 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing