We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and customer service”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My daughter and I stayed her for three nights during my granddaughter's orientation at Loyola in June. The first evening we arrived we asked for a dinner recommendation within walking distance and when we got just a couple of blocks away the skies opened up and we returned to the hotel. We were DRENCHED and my granddaughter did not have a change of shoes. The hotel took our wet clothes AND SHOES, put them into their commercial dryer and within 20 minutes we had dry warm clothes and shoes!

The manager fabulous as well: I had made three reservations as our plans changed and with the changed reservations the prices went up of course! I spoke with the manager who could see the reservation history and gave me the original price without any argument.

And most important, THE HOTEL AND ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN, 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate/tea, apples and oranges as well as a very adequate breakfast, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.

The Garden District is a lovely area, convenient to Loyola and Tulane and on the streetcar line which whenever they finish it will be a quick ride downtown. It is not within walking distance to the French Quarter but there are restaurants and services within walking distance.

I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southcarolinausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    283
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
359
264
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It is great for personal, family, or business. Convenient location, great beds and pillows. Outstanding staff. Coffee 24 hours a day and great Belgian waffles in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 740terryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Came to NOLA for my daughters orientation at Loyola.
What a wonderful place to stay. Home away from home!
Clean and beautiful.
The staff is professional and courteous.
I will definitely return to stay here many times during the next 4 years.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A lovely property in the lush Garden District of New Orleans, located on St. Charles Avenue on the streetcar line. Walk out the door, get on the streetcar, and get off in downtown New Orleans, one block from the "Quarter", or go the other way and pass by Tulane and Loyola Universities and Audubon Park. Breakfast is a little better than typical Hampton Inn (which is usually good). Lobby is magnificent with chandeliers and lots of space. Rooms reflect the "genteel" feel of New Orleans. Free parking is inside a large gated area.
One of the nicer Hampton Inns we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Top floor is always best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Right on the St Charles streetcar line this hotel is well located. The rooms are typical Hampton, but the lobby is elegant. Small pool with seating around it. Breakfast buffet and cheese and crackers in the afternoon. Staff friendly, beds comfortable, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a great hotel and the bonus is it allows you to see another side of New Orleans other than the French Quarter. Clean, comfortable rooms with very helpful staff. And easy access to the street car. We'd stay here anytime!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 118brandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stay at Hampton Inns when we travel, but this is the most beautiful one I've seen. It's an older, elegant building and feels like a four-star hotel. The rooms are more typical of what one would expect, but downstairs is expansive and sophisticated. The location is great for exploring the Garden District and it doesn't have the noise and smell of the Quarter. Plus, there are two excellent restaurants and a wine bar very, very near. Also, and this is a big plus for New Orleans, parking is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,121 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing