We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility on the streetcar line”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facility on the streetcar line”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Garden District is where I want to stay when in New Orleans. The staff were welcoming, attentive and helpful. The room is not where you want to spend time when in the Big Easy. My rooms were always clean, freshly kept and quiet. The value is terrific for a day or a week's stay. Oh, if you've rented a car, the free parking and not having to look for a spot is a terrific advantage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing St Charles Av.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    283
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
359
264
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Clean hotel. No fitness room and small lap pool. Good location on St. Charles street. Sofa bed - very uncomfortable - could feel the springs through the mattress. Otherwise a nice place. thierl theiwerr theaiwer therieh atheirwoeru therher e theriwer ;therieoh theriwoerha thwierowehr

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is in the middle of the Garden District and is right across from the St. Charles street car line. The lobby of this Hampton Inn is very nice and welcoming. It's also one of the hotels in the Garden District with free parking.

The rest of the hotel does not seem up to Hampton Inn standards.

I have stayed in quite a few Hampton Inns as a frequent guest on business travel and this one seems subpar. The bed was comfortable and clean like other Hampton Inns, but the couch in the room appeared worn and as if it had been there for quite a while. The hallways did not smell very clean. The back entrance from the parking lot is the most used entrance and is close to the elevators. However, you have to walk through smoke as you enter the hotel as all of smokers gather close by.

The stay met our needs as a place to sleep and eat breakfast in the morning. We will likely will find another hotel on a future trip to New Orleans.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a good location if you want to stay in the Garden District but also want easy access (streetcar) to French Quarter. One of the closest hotels to Tulane. Good points - relatively quiet, good beds, decent sized room.

However, being a frequent Hampton Inn guest, the room I stayed in at this property wasn't up to the standard I usually see at Hampton Inn. The room was a bit dirty and smelled off. Some of it was the humidity but I've stayed at other hotels in NOLA that didn't have that issue. The free breakfast was just ok. Toaster didn't work the several days I was there (really, how much is a toaster) and staff were just OK. Not bad but didn't seem to be enthused or go out of their way.

No gym on slight but have an odd arrangement with hospital up the street to use their physical therapy facility.

Not a horrible choice, but for the price, even in NOLA, you would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was great. It far exceeded our expectations and was much better than other hotel rooms we have previously stayed at in New Orleans. The location was fantastic and the street car runs right in front of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely be staying at the hotel again when we are in New Orleans

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jefckelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This area is nice and seem very safe to walk around. Parking and check in is in the back of the hotel and is secured with gates. We were in walking distance to the superior seafood and bar, and a wine bar also. Check in was fast... The also have cheese and crackers in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were guests at the Hampton Inn for a wedding over Memorial Day weekend. In addition to our wedding party, the hotel had at least one other wedding party and they were booked solid. Yet, the service was first rate. The ample staff was most helpful in providing suggestions for transportation and sites; they also gave us a late check out and arranged for a cab to the airport. We stayed in one of the upper floor suites. It was huge with very large bath including a two sink vanity and huge whirlpool tub. Hotel was in beautiful condition. We couldn't have chosen a better location from which to see the sites of New Orleans. The St. Charles Street Car runs right in front of the hotel. We took advantage of it as well as bus service. Very cheap rates! The Garden District is a beautiful part of New Orleans. Lovely to stroll through the neighborhood with plenty of good places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,121 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing