We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, beautiful neighborhood...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
354 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Location, beautiful neighborhood...”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

...and an easy trolley ride to the museums and the French Quarter. Rooms are exactly what you would expect from a Hampton, clean and quiet - never heard another guest. Desk staff made good recommendations for dinner meals and the breakfast buffet was the usual Hampton fare. The breakfast area (hotel lobby) is a bit small for the hotel capacity, but not really a problem. Parking in a nice lot behind the hotel is complimentary - a nice perk - noticed other hotels in the area charging $15-30 a night for parking.

Room Tip: 4th floor very quiet - did not hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    276
    76
    20
    14
See reviews for
350
257
52
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really nice and helpful front desk and manager. Everyone who worked there was friendly and seemed happy. Location was ideal for a Tulane visit, but the room was VERY tired, damp and the bathroom was like a cheap motel with scratchy towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beuper, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very happy to read from your review that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Our main priority is for all our guests to feel welcome and to enjoy their time with us. I do however understand that you found our rooms and bathrooms to be dated and in need of renovations. Your business and satisfaction is incredibly important to us and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our property.

Once again, I do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and I hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to tour Tulane University. There are many positives and a few negatives. I will start with the positives:
It is conveniently located across the street from the trolley with a stop only one block away. There are many restaurants nearby. It is easy with the trolley and bus to travel into the Bourban Street area, explore the Garden District, the zoo, Audubon Park and Tulane University. The staff was pleasant and welcoming, offering to hold our bags since we arrived prior to check in and recommended a restaurant. There is a lovely "dipping" pool (or short laps) with a quaint garden area with outdoor seating. In the evenings they put out some cubed cheese, crackers and flavored teas. In the morning there were muffins, fruit, oatmeal and cereals. It seemed clean and the bath products were sufficient. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. It was a quiet hotel.
Negatives:
They advertised OMG, TBISC (meaning: Oh my gosh, the beds are so clean). This made me wonder! See the attached photo, it is from inside the elevator. These signs were everywhere. The hotel security did not seem very strong and it seemed to be situated in a somewhat "iffy" area. I think we were just one or two blocks off the "wrong" way. We went to a restaurant behind the hotel and up a few blocks and had a few alarming situations happen all during one dining experience!
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We needed a hotel for the last night of our stay at French Quarter. We found a room in the garden district. It was definitely too far to walk to the French Quarter, but the trolley goes right by out front on St Charles. You can ride into Qtr for exact change $1.25. The hotel was nice, clean and had a great buffet breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. the room came with a microwave and fridge. I loved the computer in the lobby, it was all set up to print your boarding passes or go on email. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. the hotel staff were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy333P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful and they all had a smile on their face when working. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful and the location is perfect. The hotel is located on the St Charles street car line and it is a wonderful way to get into the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
953 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staying here is like a visit to a bygone era.
This older classic property is located among the leafy
trees of the Garden District yet is close to many restaurants.
We were greeted by Amy at the front desk and because we were early our room wasn't ready. She called housekeeping to set up a cleaning.
We decided to go to lunch nearby. Upon our return,
we found out that housekeeping had somehow just gotten the message. We decided to settle for a second floor front king instead of a 4th floor unit.
The only difference is street noise, and that was not a big deal.
The ambiance is classic 1930s New Orleans. The front room has a slate tile floor with comfortable old-school furniture. It is quite bright and airy.
Their breakfast is a bit unlike the usual Hampton
Inn. They have a lot more of everything. Scrambled eggs, potatoes, and sausage goes with huge waffles,
pastries, normal bagels, muffins, and toast.
Juice is served in large pitchers, there is three flavors of coffee and many more of tea available.
Our breakfast hostess is very helpful and has a welcoming personality.
Sitting in that front room eating breakfast is a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
There is an old-world sense of tranquility here.
The St. Charles street car goes right by your door every 15 minutes. There's free protected parking in the back.
The rooms are large and are furnished nicely.
The bed and pillows are comfortable, the bath rooms were large and my only quibble was a very worn face cloth that somehow was overlooked.
This is a friendly, well-run property that is a fine experience when visiting the Big Easy.

Room Tip: Top floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here overnight on a business trip. The hotel staff were very helpful. When I had 4 hours to kill until my plane left the staff were very accomodating and gave me another free wi-fi access code. The breakfast was great and the snacks the next day were also good. A little on the pricey side for the time I spent there but I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing