We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“decent home base”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Aside from a few house keeping mishaps, we had a good stay at the hotel. We were visiting family and for our purposes (using Hilton Honors points) it was affordable and convenient. The house keeper left dirty rags on top of my cosmetic case once and even after we mentioned it, something similar happened the next day. Not such a big deal, but we didn't leave a tip for the housekeeping staff as we usually do. I like Hampton Inns in general because they use clean duvet covers on the beds instead of a bedspread. It is nice that the Columns Hotel is across the street (which sometimes has live music) and we liked Delachaise restaurant/bar as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luludibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    282
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
358
264
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My daughter and I recently booked two rooms at this Inn on St. Charles Avenue on a weekend during Carnival Season in New Orleans. The location could not be more perfect for viewing the parades which pass right in front of this Inn. Ample, secure parking is provided for guests at the rear of the property. A temporary chain link fence is erected at the front of the hotel. The gates to this fence are closed minutes before the beginning of each parade and remain locked until one hour after the end of the parade, thus ensuring the safety and privacy of the hotel guests. Guests view the parades outside on the sidewalk or across the avenue. They can enter the hotel during this period at the rear of the facility, which is only a short walk, by using their room key to gain entrance. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fresh fruit are available in the very large and comfortably appointed lobby 24 hours a day. There is a tea and cheese reception each afternoon. The rooms meet expectations and are equipped with fridge and microwave. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient. Check-in was extremely quick. All in all, a great choice for Mardi Gras fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I love the location of this hotel, but this will be the last time I stay at this property or any Hilton property. I admit, it was my fault that I left my jewelry on the bed when I checked out yesterday morning. A huge mistake I now have to live with the consequences of my action.

I did learn about the blame game from the housekeeping supervisor along with some very disturbing hotel policies. It seems the policy is for the housekeeper to unlock all rooms she is going to clean, then she leaves the floor and the open rooms for an extended period of time. The houseman comes by later and strips the beds, then also leaves with all rooms unlocked and unguarded.

Although guests need their room keys to access their floor by elevator, I found out you can get on the floor by the stairs; or so said the supervisor. Funny there was not a run on things taken from other rooms yesterday just mine by this bandit from the stairs but this is their story. She also said they know the procedure the police use and for me to just file a report. I gather this happens a lot in this Hampton Inn.

I also found out from this supervisor that they have cameras in the laundry area but there are no cameras on the guest floors with the open rooms. A great sense of security for all guests staying at this hotel.

I can tell you the New Orleans Police Department are very caring and sympathetic. The officer was professional and honest in telling me there was no real hope of getting back my jewelry. After a day of crying over family pieces that are irreplaceable, I have faith in the police and my insurance company; just not The Hampton Inn or the Hilton Corporation with these lack security policies.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is the second year that we have reserved a group block at this hotel for Mardi Gras and I must say that eveyone is very pleased! This hotel is tucked away on St. Charles avenue right on the parade route and street car line in the beautiful garden district of New Orleans. The hotel staff is very friendly and the hotel and sales managers are always available to ensure that everything goes smooth with our visit. The rooms are rather large but I think the furniture can be updated a bit in them. Both the guest rooms and public areas are kept up very nicely and are extremely clean. Breakfast is very nice and has a variety of hot and cold items. Finally, this hotel is IDEAL for Mardi Gras, as they are right on the parade route. The hotel does a great job of handleing the Mardi Gras crowds by providing storage areas for ladders, chairs, etc. as well as providing a gated area to view the parades, with lots of security. Job well done to the Hampton Inn on St. Charles for another great Mardi Gras visit. We hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Request a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for a girls getaway. The location is great- the streetcar is right across the street. The daily breakfast is great, and cheese/crackers and fruit are served every afternoon- which is a nice plus after a day of sightseeing. However, what really sets this Hampton Inn apart from others that I have stayed in- is their very patient and accomodating staff! Brandy and Nicole were extremely patient in answering our numerous questions about restaurants and tours. They were both most helpful in calling tour companies for us, and in actually booking tours for us. Upon our return, they were always interested in how everything went and whether we would recommennd the excursions to others. I would definitely stay here again, and feel that you definitely get your moneys worth. You'll then be able to use the money you save staying here and be able to put your money towards treating yourself to the wonderful Louisiana food and other attractions New Orleans has to offer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maryann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my teenage kids while visiting my old home town for the holidays. What a treat with complimentary parking, convenient location on streetcar line, hot breakfast and great personable staff! It was definitely a "home" away from home. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

While I am not the biggest fan of New Orleans in general, I can say that this hotel is ok. The exterior and the lobby are very nice, which pumps this properties rating a bit. The rooms are a little below my standards, however. They are mostly just old. They also have a very serious lack of outlets. This is a problem for the modern traveler. The location is very nice, and is a huge plus as well. This is an average hotel after you combine the good and the bad, and I would stay here again, if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmarep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing