We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good location and nice place”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The rooms are spacious and we found them to be very clean. We read about some of the problems with the breakfast, but we found the selection to be very good and had no problem with getting silverware or plates, etc. Perhaps it is a hit or miss thing, but our experience was very good. The location is pretty good for walking along the river and you can get to the French Quarter or Canal Street within about 15 minutes or less at a regular pace. The staff was friendly and helpful to us, although we did receive some incorrect advice regarding the cruise ship terminal. Try not to get a room on the convention center side, though, as you will hear the street noise. I think it's a very good hotel and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I apologize for the incorrect information given to you in regards to the cruise terminal. We just recently reviewed with our staff all information about the cruises. So that should not be an issue in the future. We agree that our location is great for pre and post cruise vacations, as we are right in between the French quarter and our city’s port. Again, I am so happy to hear about your stay with us, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    378
    115
    39
    23
See reviews for
296
195
37
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean room with location across from Convention Center. WORST hotel breakfast ever! The room was clean and the staff was nice. good hotel rate but do not figure the "free" breakfast as included. Immediately go to somewhere else for a real New Orleans breakfast. Also the shower did not drain properly even after notifying the staff. do not rely on the hotel as a concierge since they know very little about tours or restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. Also if you do not book direct with Hyatt, you do no get points!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbenoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated, as they help us to continue to improve our service. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. We try our absolute best to make each guests’ experience with us a great one. I would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with the appropriate management to prevent these incidences in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

No issues with the hotel itself. Very clean, conveniently located, and got room at a great price. Staff was a little moody however. One female manager in particular seemed as if every question asked was a nuisance and we didn't ask many. We aren't "complainers" nor are we "nitpicky." Also didn't appreciate being approached by the dope fiend panhandler who was accompanied by his thug friend who followed us into the hotel after we declined his request for funds. I would have expected one of the unoccupied staff members to politely ask the gentlemen (dope fiend) to leave, but they didn't and the two guys disappeared down a hotel hallway off the lobby. It didn't sour our vacation in any way, but we were together as a couple and my husband is a larger gentleman. A single female traveler may not have felt the same. However, I should note that this was an isolated incident and the only time we were approached by panhandlers during our stay. The hotel is located in what I would call a "safe" area. All in all we would stay here again and it was a great value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. Don't expect the type of over the top service commonly received at hotels such as Hilton, Marriot, etc. You get what you pay for.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated as they help us to continually improve as a hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Our guests’ comfort and safety are our top priorities, and I want to assure you that this is not a norm for our hotel. Our goal is not only to meet the needs of each and every guest but to exceed your expectations.

I will certainly be sharing your comments with the appropriate management to make sure this does not happen again. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back again to show you that we exemplify the Hyatt standards.

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here the night before our cruise left. The location is great for the port. It is also conveniently located a short distance from the French Quarter. We took the street car there and walked back. The room was nice and clean with two queens and a couch. The beds were very comfortable. The noise from the breakfast area carried into our room and if we weren't already awake was loud enough to wake someone up. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. We went down at 9am and found very little food available and not all of us were able to find clean dishes to put food on. I had to eat my oatmeal with a fork because after waiting for 10 minutes for a spoon it was apparent that the staff was not in a hurry to get clean ones out for their guests even after asking for one. I saw many other guests dealing with the same issues that we were dealing with too. Maybe they were short staffed that morning but the staff that was there certainly weren't concerned about rushing to keep up with the demand. The front desk staff however were very helpful during check in and out and answered all of our questions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgoddeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with our breakfast. I want to assure you that this is not a typical occurrence, and I will certainly be sharing your comments with the appropriate management to hopefully prevent this from happening again. Our guests’ enjoyment is our team’s number one priority, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to show our improvements. We hope that you had a wonderful time on the cruise and want to thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place New Orleans. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 4 night at this hotel. It is located 20 minute lazy walk from French Quarter.
The hotel, it is true to the Hyatt Place standard and the rooms are nice spacious and spotless. And the pillows are perfect!!
The hotel offers a free breakfast witch is a plus. There is a plenty of food to choose from. The staff is GREAT! The neighborhood is safe..
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very proud to be a part of the Hyatt Place brand family and could not be happier to hear that you are familiar with it, and enjoy staying here. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights ,the location is great if you are going on a cruise and after May 2014 just a stone throw away from Riverwalk outlet mall, 10 min walk to Harrah casino and 20 min lazy stroll from FQ. great breakfast and service, no free parking though but the parking is right beside it, $32/valet but if you park on your own it is $20 for anything between 8-24 hours, they offer a $12/night for cruise ships.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 703 and it was quiet and I could see the bridge over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinajoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel! We definitely agree that our location is perfect for visitors coming in town before and after their cruise. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Convention Center New Orleans prior to a Caribbean cruise. The hotel is very conveniently located near the cruise terminals, less than two blocks away and also within walking distance (5-15 minutes) of Jackson Square, the French Quarter, the WWII museum, Mardi Gras World, and the St. Charles street car line. The property is a standard Hyatt Place with nicely decorated rooms, a good breakfast buffet, and free wi-fi.

I'd have given it an Excellent rating except for two things. First, the rooms on the main street are a little noisy as it is on a busy road with lots of late night traffic and revelers. If possible, ask for a room on the sides or rear of the property. Second, we had some difficulty getting accurate information about accessing the cruise terminal (we wanted to walk) and ended up with three different answers. Eventually, we ended up taking a cab ride when we could have walked there in five minutes. To their credit, the property GM apologized, gave a reasonable explanation for the incorrect information we received, and offered appropriate compensation which was appreciated. Overall, I'd certainly stay there again but I'd ask for a side or rear room and I'd make sure to verify what the front desk staff tells me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side or rear of the property are likely to be quieter than those facing the front (main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Psi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We definitely agree that we have a great location, especially for pre and post cruisers! Thank you so much for choosing the Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing