We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 4 night at this hotel. It is located 20 minute lazy walk from French Quarter.
The hotel, it is true to the Hyatt Place standard and the rooms are nice spacious and spotless. And the pillows are perfect!!
The hotel offers a free breakfast witch is a plus. There is a plenty of food to choose from. The staff is GREAT! The neighborhood is safe..
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very proud to be a part of the Hyatt Place brand family and could not be happier to hear that you are familiar with it, and enjoy staying here. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    371
    113
    37
    22
See reviews for
289
194
37
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights ,the location is great if you are going on a cruise and after May 2014 just a stone throw away from Riverwalk outlet mall, 10 min walk to Harrah casino and 20 min lazy stroll from FQ. great breakfast and service, no free parking though but the parking is right beside it, $32/valet but if you park on your own it is $20 for anything between 8-24 hours, they offer a $12/night for cruise ships.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 703 and it was quiet and I could see the bridge over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinajoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel! We definitely agree that our location is perfect for visitors coming in town before and after their cruise. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Convention Center New Orleans prior to a Caribbean cruise. The hotel is very conveniently located near the cruise terminals, less than two blocks away and also within walking distance (5-15 minutes) of Jackson Square, the French Quarter, the WWII museum, Mardi Gras World, and the St. Charles street car line. The property is a standard Hyatt Place with nicely decorated rooms, a good breakfast buffet, and free wi-fi.

I'd have given it an Excellent rating except for two things. First, the rooms on the main street are a little noisy as it is on a busy road with lots of late night traffic and revelers. If possible, ask for a room on the sides or rear of the property. Second, we had some difficulty getting accurate information about accessing the cruise terminal (we wanted to walk) and ended up with three different answers. Eventually, we ended up taking a cab ride when we could have walked there in five minutes. To their credit, the property GM apologized, gave a reasonable explanation for the incorrect information we received, and offered appropriate compensation which was appreciated. Overall, I'd certainly stay there again but I'd ask for a side or rear room and I'd make sure to verify what the front desk staff tells me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side or rear of the property are likely to be quieter than those facing the front (main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Psi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We definitely agree that we have a great location, especially for pre and post cruisers! Thank you so much for choosing the Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This is an older building renovated into a very nice Hyatt Place. It is easy walking distance to the convention center and a long walk or short drive to the French Quarter and French market areas. Every staff member we interacted with were above and beyond! Shower worked well with good water pressure. The coffee bar was well stocked and makes great coffee. The room was large and well decorated as all Hyatt Place's have been for us. There are plenty of outlets for the modern traveler with several Chargers to plug in . Baby bedding is premium and super comfortable and we have a large easy to view tv. Very typical of Hyatt Place hotels and one of the main reasons we select these when we can . The only slight negative was internet access speed. It works its functional but a little on the slow side. Good breakfast area is large with a selection that was way better than most hotels even the other upscale brands such as Courtyard. And again the staff here we're just superb ! This Hyatt Place seems to do a much better job of selecting and training their employees that interface with customers. Every single one were differential compared to other hotels. There are three computers with large screens in the lobby that can be used to print boarding passes etc. Valet service was very prompt and always had our car waiting for us in less than 10 minutes Plus the guy that runs the valet service is one of the most friendly and helpful people on the staff!

We'll use this hotel anytime we are back in New Orleans.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sailright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. Your wonderful comments just made my day! Our entire staff really does work hard to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful stay, and it is such a delight to hear that it is something you noticed. I will definitely be sharing your comments with the rest of our team, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were very pleased with Hyatt Place. The location was a walkable distance away from the French Quarter, the staff was wonderful, security card to rooms was great and the breakfast was the best! BIG variety and GREAT food!

Room Tip: We liked where we were on the 2nd floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMWhitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with the rest of our team, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Simple but large lobby with a small coffee shop as several computers available for guests.
Rooms are nice and modern and will easely fit 4 people providing you book two double beds .
Small gym with modern fitness equipement available .
Brakfeast can be stressfull as if you come late you mind have an issue with finding food or atleast finding choice of food . We tryd breakfast early around 7 am and once wtound 9 am the difference was very obvious .Cleaning staff at breakfast is not very active and with the few tables available you might have a hard time finding a free table if you do not remove dirty used plates your self.
Hotel location is fine just opposite convention ctre and very close to french quarter.
We enjoyed our stay and personally i find this hotel - a few cosmetic details wich i am sure can be corected a very good hotel for the price we payd.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will definitely be sharing your comments about breakfast with the rest of our team. We try our best to make your entire stay as stress-free as possible, and we will surely check on this to prevent it from happening in the future. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place for 8 nights while on business in NOLA. The hotel is in a prime location - right across the street from the convention center, within walking distance to the French Quarter, and only a block away from the warehouse district.

My room was very clean, although smelled very musty. I am not sure if this is due to the proximity of the river? The room featured a king sized bed, a HUGE TV, and an L-shaped couch. This was a great feature, as it's always nice to have space to relax that's not the bed. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower was a good size. Room service was great about replacing towels and toiletries.

This hotel has no room service, which was disappointing. They do have a "market" downstairs where you can order food to go, as well as a bar. I had the hummus trio plate as a snack one afternoon and it was surprisingly good.

The hotel has free breakfast that starts at 6:30, which is great for families or a business traveler. The coffee was always fresh and ready.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. It is not fancy, but is clean and comfortable, in a great location.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back corner of your floor. The ones that overlook the 3rd floor breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We definitely agree with you, that having a couch area in all of our rooms is very nice, especially if you want to relax, but not necessarily in the same place that you sleep. I’m sure, for a business traveler, this is particularly nice. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing