We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel was clean and functional, with a great location across the street from the Convention Center. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It could use some "fixing up", but it was nice to find lots of outlets in the room. I liked the "grab and go" breakfast sandwiches at the complimentary breakfast each morning. We also liked the convenience of the trolley stop, as that was our main mode of transportation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BendORJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this past week. We take pride in having a fun and friendly staff and are definitely excited to hear that you agree! We will definitely pass along your wonderful comments to the rest of our team, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here the other day for a convention. It was well priced during the time I was there. Friendly staff and no problems at all. The lobby is huge, free wifi and the speed was fast, and free light breakfast. The room was spacious and clean. It is right across the street from the convention center, so it was an easy walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for staying with us this past week! We are so appreciative and really do love to hear feedback from our guests. We agree that we have a prime location for convention attendees, and the convenience of the complimentary high-speed wifi & breakfast is definitely a plus, especially when traveling on business. We will certainly be sharing your wonderful comments with our staff and will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hotel is is an easy location to both the warehouse district, convention center, and French Quarter. I felt safe to walk to and from the hotel in the early evening. The room was clean, in excellent shape and spacious. The King size room had a very nice sofa area/sitting area as well.

There are some nice perks to the hotel- 24 hour exercise room, nice lobby area with computer/internet access, & fresh apples. Also, if you need to borow items such as tech plug-ins or curling irons, they provide this at no charge for your stay. There is a breakfast buffet included in your stay each morning- (with yougurt, fruits, hot dishes such as french toast and bacon and egg biscuit sandwiches. Juices, Starbuck coffees and teas), and a 24 hour cafe to purchase food from to eat downstairs or to bring up to your room. The cafe has everything from candy bars & desserts to full meals (I loved the spinach salad & flatbread with artichoke and chicken).

Although we ran into some difficulties with the Valet parking timing more than once, I must say the minute I spoke with management about it, it was not only corrected for the rest of the week, but also several staff addressed me personally to ensure things were made right. (thankyou Jason and Keith!!) The staff was very friendly and personable throughout the week and took the time to get to know me. I observed other customers feeling taken care of as well. The customer service turned what would hae been a 4 star rating into a 5 star for me.

This is a great place to stay for an extended period of time, and not at all noisy as some of the other areas in downtown city locations can be. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: King size room had nice l shaped couch area for sitting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to ensure that each guest not only feels comfortable and welcome at Hyatt Place, but also that they have fun and enjoy their trip. We agree with you when you say that customer service makes a difference, and to hear that this made such a difference for you at our hotel is such a delight. I will definitely be sharing your wonderful comments with the rest of our team. Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very small. I used the safe in the room to store my iPad and had a malfunction one of the four day stay at the hotel, it took an hour to get someone to open the safe and I missed a class that I needed to attend. Overall the hotel was good and the location to the convention site was excellent. Would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbr15192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated! I am sorry to hear that you had to miss a meeting over your convention, but am very happy to hear that your overall experience with us was good. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. We definitely agree that our location is excellent for convention attendees, not only because we are just across the street, but also because there are so many great restaurants and attractions nearby. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This property is perfect for your pre or post cruise stay. Only minutes from the port by shuttle or walking. Plus you are only 5mins from the Julia Street station for the street car to take you into the FQ. All day pass is $3 or $1.25 ea way. From the minute we stepped through the door and checking in with Brooklyn I new this was going to be a great experience. Later on I had the privilege of speaking with Brandon (Ops Manager) and Robert (Valet) who help me with a misunderstanding with the parking garage next door. The email which Brandon sent out prior to our arrival create the expectation of caring, wanting to provide great customer experience as well as separating the Hyatt Place from the many options NOLA has to offer.

There are 3 computers in the lobby you can use with a printer in the event you forgot to print out your travel documents as well as free Wi-Fi. They hotel is located next to the Fulton Place parking garage which also helps. The hotel also provides a free breakfast (bkfst sandwiches, pancakes, fresh fruit and pastries as well as assorted juices and coffee) that will fill you up. Others either have just the basic stuff or you have to pay additional. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. There is also a Starbucks downstairs or you can use the single cup coffee maker in the room. Also there was a micro-frig if needed. The media panel gave you access to charge up all your technology if needed. Another added feature is a room safe that you do not have to pay extra for as many other properties add that fee into your bill even if you do not use it.

This property is Top Notch as we stayed in the Garden District, FQ and other Warehouse District properties pre-cruise and this is now our go to spot. The Welcome Email was a truly a "Touch of Hyatt". See you again before our next cruise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it! It is such a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely agree with you, when you say that our hotel is the perfect place to stay for a pre or post cruise. We try our absolute best to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us, and to hear that you agree with us puts a smile on all of our faces.

I will be passing along all of your wonderful comments to our entire staff, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel overall, front desk personel, rooms, breakfast and location.
We stayed there for a night last December, and we were happy to be there after a long drive from Florida.
We had a doube room which was one of the biggest Ive stayed at in Hyatt, great view and nicer beds ;)

Thanks for the great stay!!! Will definitely be back again!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank epole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We know how uncomfortable and draining long drives can be, and we are very happy that you were able to relax and enjoy our comfortable beds when you arrived! Our guests’ comfort is a top priority and it is always such a delight to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean hotel. Very friendly staff. Decent sized room. Only slight negatives are that the room had an extremely small bathroom and there is no restaurant on sight. This hotel is across the street from the convention center and very close to the cruise ship ports. There's also a parking garage next to the hotel where you can park your car cheaper than at the cruise terminal if sailing on a cruise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domhan-Taistealai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear feedback from our guests! Our team strives to make sure each guest has a fun and enjoyable time while staying at our hotel. We also want our guests to feel comfortable, and cleanliness is a very important part of that. We are so happy to hear your positive comments about our staff and rooms, and I will definitely be sharing your review with the rest of our team.

Our location to the port, makes for a great place to stay before and after a cruise trip because so many area attractions and restaurants are within walking distance. Again, we are very appreciative of your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 166 in New Orleans
1,015 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $114 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing