We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
somewhere in, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I picked this hotel based on price, price of parking, location, & wifi.
Pros:
This hotel is within walking or street car distance from the French Quarter, WWII Museum, St. Charles, CBD of NOLA, & other sites.
Friendly & helpful staff
Spacious & clean room upon arrival.
Hyatt Has It
Price
The Valet
Breakfast
Lovely view
Shower
Cozy corner
Tv
Wifi
Safety
Cons:
Although the house keeper would give us clean towels every morning, the room was not cleaned until we left. I know she came around mid morning 9 - 11ish while we were still in the room; however, I would have thought it would get clean sometime while we were out.
The atrium: Upon reading reviews from this site I requested a high floor, which I received. One can still hear noise from the third floor on the seventh floor. It wasn't too much of a problem for us though.
Park & Play Package: Only reason I am putting this in a con is because they accidentally almost charged me $130 extra; however, we had it resolved prior to leaving. Apparently, one can use this package if they are traveling on a cruise ship. I did not know this. I knew there was another package for cruises, but not this. When I called up the main Hyatt headquarters months ago they did not mention this, the website did not mention this, nor did the person at the check in. While this a great package, I really enjoyed the valet, please have them clarify before purchasing the package!

We would defiantly stay here again & recommend it!

Room Tip: Clarify Park & Play Package! Upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatlekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    369
    112
    37
    21
See reviews for
288
192
37
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great location. Close enough to all the fun of New Orleans, yet far enough away that you don't get all the extra rowdiness of N.O. The breakfast selection, taste, and constant replenishing was AWESOME. There are only 2 minor complaints to be noted 1)getting extra clean towels in a timely manner is at turtle speed 2)only 1 washer & dryer in the whole hotel!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is where the breakfast area is and Room 301 is adjacent to the breakfast area. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzKryptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a room with a sleeper sofa. The room was very large and comfortable.
The beds were great. We were on the 4th floor and had no problems with outside noise, but had no view... rooftop and convention center front The breakfast bar featured a variety each day and never the "make your own waffles" that you usually see. Even pickiest granddaughter ate well.
We parked our car using the vallet services, then walked everywhere we went.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Grands54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was fairly priced for the location. It was near enough to the French Quarters to be enjoyable, but not so close as to be loud and busy. A doorman was always present, making you feel even safer when coming in late at night. To use the elevators to reach the rooms, you have to use your room key, thus preventing anyone from just wondering up. The breakfast area was quite large to accommodate everyone and they had a good selection for breakfast. It is a long 2 block walk to the nearest Streetcar stop. Taxies to and from the French Quarter are fairly priced (around $10 one way). We had taken the train to New Orleans, but parking for the hotel was pricey. The front desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel! *Please note that there are no microwaves in most rooms. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: The breakfast area is on the third floor, so avoid getting a room there as it is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service was very good. My wife doesn't care too much for breakfast sandwiches, but I think they do a good job for them. The rooms are clean and the beds sleep well. You can usually get this hotel for a fair price and it is only a few minutes drive from the Superdome,the Aquarium, and the French Quarter. If you want to walk it, it's near the riverwalk and convention center. If you are going on a cruise out of the Port of New Orleans, it is right across the street. That's what we were here for this time. We have stayed here a few times and will again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Always like a hotel with breakfast and they had excellent choices. Egg muffins especially were good, pancakes, and the usual fair.
Enjoyed the couch that was in our double room, and we had an excellent view to watch the cruise ship sail!
Tip to get around: walk over behind the convention center and take the Riverfront cable car to the French Market and Jackson Square. Make sure to shop for masks, beads, etc. in the French Market...much better prices than French Quarter itself!
No pool, and we found a hairbrush when we moved the sofa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't see another reason for choosing this hotel other than the price.

However, as a tourist, it was a lousy choice. I didn't realize that there wasn't a pool (my bad). The public transportation (Red Line Streetcar) ran infrequently and only to the French Quarter (again my bad).

On the upside, the continental breakfast, room comfort, cleanliness, service, and overall quality of the hotel were worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Convention Center Blvd. were noisier. We paid extra for a larger room and felt it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontessoriMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing