We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed her for four nights during the Essence Music Festival. The hotel is right across the street from the convention center.
THe staff was super nice and gracious. With 4 women we were in constant need of towels and wash cloths and our room was a mess. LOL but they were able to keep it together. Also, this weekend is crazy every year and they did a really good job. We had no complaints at all.

The free breakfast is a major plus. The choices are good and it saves lots of time and money.

We walked every where. If you are in fairly decent shape you can walk to the French Quarter, Canal Street shops, the Casino and even the Dome. We caught a cab to the Dome back walked back every night after the concerts.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    339
    101
    30
    16
See reviews for
262
174
33
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just read the previous reviews and as a very frequent visitor to the Crescent City, I say the location is perfect for families. It may not be what the "party-goers" are looking for, but as far as family and kid-friendly activities you can't beat this spot. It's directly across the street from the Convention Center and short walk to Riverwalk, Aquarium, IMAX, Children's Museum, several great restaurants and Harrah's. We paid $140 per night base rate for a suite with 2 queens and a pull out. Included full breakfast. Only downside is parking. Valet is $33 per day or self park $25 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank autoxfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This years Essence was amazing. The hotel was great. The hotel was packed and always busy but the staff was so nice and accommodating. It is right across the street from the convention center which made it convenient for us during the day to see the venders and take part in the seminars. Breakfast was very good. And, there was food available 24 hours a day. Plus, they had these awesome chocolate chip cookies! !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyElaine1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was what you would expect from a Hyatt Place. I liked that we were able to check in early without difficulty. The room was nice, but the tub was a bit dirty at check in. Free wifi was a plus. It's a little far from everything so unless you will be spending a lot of time at the convention center I would probably stay closer to the action. We stayed on the 8th floor so the noise some people mentioned in other reviews was not an issue. My room was across the hall from the ice machine and there was a bad smell in the hallway. Parking was difficult. The hotel was busy from the Essence Festival and even after waiting an extended amount of time the parking attendants never got our car. I think I will go back to the Westin next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilsdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Creek, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ok Hyatt Place in New Orleans. Too far to walk to the French Quarter but a very short taxi ride. Clean hotel but staff seemed overwhelmed by a small number of guests. Convention center is right across the street. Better breakfast area than most Hyatt Place locations. Overall, good price for an ok hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MV_014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast is good with a small variety to choose from. The down fall is the parking. You can either pay for parking at the hotel or the parking garage beside the hotel. Either way your paying! If having a pool makes a huge difference then you may not want to stay at this Hyatt. No pool and no gym! There is a nice starbucks in the lobby though. The street car does not run to the hotel so there are short walks to and from the excitement. All in all it is a nice hotel in a good spot if your here for a convention.

Helpful?
Thank Crysthrr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked the hotel primarily for the location across from the convention center. When I arrived there after midnight after an exhausting flight (8 hour flight delay), I found that they overbooked the hotel. They offered to put me up at the Marriott next door free of charge. When I arrived at the Marriott, Hyatt realized that they mixed me up with someone else. They refused to pay for my hotel at Marriott saying that I did not book with them, so I had to pay the $170 night. I did not want to pursue the matter since I was tired and it was taking another 1/2 hour for Hyatt to try and find a reason not to give me the free night.
The next day Hyatt realized it was their mistake. Instead of offering to compensate for the their mistake I was given 2 cookies and an plate with cracker and cheese which I could not eat. I do not feel that this hotel treat their customers equally.
Even though the stay left me frustrated, in fairness, the hotel room was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing