We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NICE BUT NOISEY!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE BUT NOISEY!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a very nice place that is incredibly convenient to the Convention Center. You could just about trip off the curb and find yourself on Convention Center property.

The Hotel does not have some of the amenities normally associated with a Hyatt, but that is easily forgiven in favor of this terrific location. Breakfast was free, and better pretty much what you would expect for that type of situation -- okay but not great.

The entire staff was very very accomodating, and seemed prepared to do whatever they could to make your stay pleasant. There is a small bar and a small Business Center to allow you to check Email and do other assorted things.

My big complaint, and only room location can correct, is the fact that the Convention Center Blvd. is a very busy street even in the early hours of the morning. Trucks, loud cars, motorcycles - you name it!!! Getting a really good nights sleep is somewhat of a challenge. Yes, New Orleans is a "party town" but some of us do have to go to work in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LehighLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    294
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
214
142
26
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After reading some previous reviews, I was a little nervous. We were pleasantly surprised with the room décor. Very up to date. Breakfast was great and it was constantly being replenished.
I would stay here again, although it's not as close to the French Quarter as we would have liked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay while in New Orleans. It's close enough to the French Quarter to walk over, but far enough away that you can relax when you get back to your room.

There is no pool, which is a big bummer for the kids, but on the upside it was probably the best hotel "free breakfast" that I've ever seen. Also, our room was very spacious, and had been recently renovated.

The front desk staff were not quite as polished and professional as I'm used to seeing, but they were all very pleasant. However, both times that I called to get my car from the valet, they failed to let the valet know and I had to wait. Fortunately, the valet lot is near, and the waits were short.

All in all, I found it to be a very good value, and will probably stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get away. Awesome hotel and staff and very convenient to French Quarter. Nice walk to the square and beyond. Room spacious and clean. Free breakfast an added plus. The valet, Robby was excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momkimecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We are always glad to see our neighbors from the North Shore get away for a weekend visit in New Orleans.

We are proud to have Robby as a part of our team and will share your comments with him to make sure he is recognized appropriately.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, the staff were all really helpful and friendly. That being said, this place just didn't have the amenities one expects from a Hyatt. There was no pool, spa or sauna. There was no room service. The bistro was brightly lit, and did not encourage hanging out. The bistro itself provided boxed microwave food. I got the lava cake, which was reheated, and so dried out I didn't finish it. A glass of pinot noir and the cake was $13 - it should have been yummy. Internet was free, a positive. The breakfast, included, usually had some sort of egg/biscuit/muffin combinations along with the usual fare you would expect from a less expensive place. Fresh fruit salad was hit or miss - and I doubt it was really freshly prepared but from Sam's Club. No fresh bananas except the first day. The coffee set up was really inconvenient if you want to drink out of a real cup with real milk. The valet parking had issues, at least twice we had to ask twice for our car, which meant it took 20 minutes +/- to get it. The parking attendants were very nice and helpful once they showed up. The room shape was inconvenient for getting luggage in and out. There was only one sink, and no room for opened suitcases. The location was convenient for getting on and off the interstate, and right across from the convention center but there was no catwalk or tunnel, and other hotels were as close to the convention center, but also closer to Canal Street. LOL, just checked rates - we were attending a conference, and our rate was $250/night. If you book in June, their rate is $99/night. WTF?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDIWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was in New Orleans for the first time on business and brought my wife with me. This hotel was recommended to us by family that visits New Orleans several times a year. I can see why they stay here. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. We ate the complimentary breakfast both mornings we were there. It was decent with some unique choices that we enjoyed.

The hotel was within walking distance to quite a choice of restaurants and we got a great rate. Overall it was a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We are pleased that we were able to host your first visit to New Orleans. We were happy to see that you had an enjoyable visit and took the opportunity to experience our convenient location and enjoyed some of our local restaurants.

We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet, and convenient to the Convention Center. The advertised "free breakfast" leaves much to be desired, which is what lowers my rating. The nearby Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites are probably better overall for a comparable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our convenient and quiet location.

I was disappointed to see that our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience in this area. We have recently added additional staff to our breakfast area and hope you have the opportunity to come back and see how we have improved the service for our Atrium AM Skillet breakfast.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing